Skip to Main Content

About the Library

Library Building Layout

The Frances Willson Thompson Library has three floors. Although you may enter the building on the ground floor, the only way into the library is through the entrance on the third floor. Here is breakdown of what is contained on each floor.

Third Floor

  • Circulation Desk
  • Reference Desk
  • 4 Group Study Rooms and the ThinkLab
  • 2 ITS Printers
  • ITS Workstations
  • ITS Group Lab
  • Quiet Room for silent study
  • Media Collection
  • Reference Collection
  • Browsing Collection
  • Periodicals
  • Children's Literature Collection
  • English Language Program Collection
  • Research Instruction Lab (Room 313)
  • Marian E. Wright Writing Center

Second Floor

  • Main Collection: Call Numbers A - M
  • ITS Workstations
  • 5 Group Study Rooms
  • Reference Instruction Lab (Room 213)
  • Computer Writing Classroom (Room 225)
First Floor
  • Main Collection: Call Numbers N - Z
  • Oversize Collection
  • Microfilm Collection
  • Microfilm Reader
  • Technical Services
  • Library Atrium
  • Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching (Room 134)
  • Honors Program (Room 138)

Maps of Library

These are printable PDF maps of each of the library floors. Maps are also available at the Reference and Circulation desks.

Study Rooms

The library has 10 study rooms students must reserve online and can reserve up to one week in advance, using the button below. Keys to the study rooms are checked out at the circulation desk.

Rooms on the third floor:

  • ThinkLab (Room 312): a multi-media study space equipped with a whiteboard, computer and 65" monitor mounted on the wall
  • Galileo (Room 327): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 students, equipped with ITS computer and whiteboards
  • Aristotle (Room 328): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 students, equipped with ITS computer and whiteboards
  • Curie (Room 329): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 students, equipped with ITS computer and whiteboards
  • Mozart (Room 330): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 student, equipped with Mediascape table and whiteboards

Rooms on the second floor:

  • Einstein (Room 215): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 students, equipped with ITS computer and whiteboards
  • Shakespeare (Room 216): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 students, equipped with ITS computer and whiteboards
  • Franklin (Room 217): a group study room, suited for groups of 2 - 4 students, equipped with ITS computer and whiteboards
  • Kahlo (Room 218): a group study room, suited for 4 - 8 students, equipped with white boards
  • Carver (Room 221): a group study room, suited for 4 - 8 students, equipped with white boards