- American Film Scripts Online
Hundreds of screenplays, 1903-present.
- American History in Video
Documentary films & newsreels of significant events in U.S. history, 1492-2001, and filmed 1898-2010.
- Art and Architecture in Video
A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
300+ important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive the L.A. Theatre Works, one of the nation's premiere radio theater companies. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening. Includes plays by Shakespeare, Chekhov, Arthur Miller, and more.
- Black Drama
1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, & more.
- Black Short Fiction & Folklore from Africa & the African Diaspora
Includes approximately 8,000 previously published short stories as well as previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts. Fables and folktales are also widely represented within the collection.
- Black Studies in Video
Award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Covers history, politics, art & culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. Upon completion, Black Studies in Video will have about 500 hours of video, in streaming format. Videos from Alexander Street Press can be downloaded to a phone or other portable device for viewing within 48 hours. Short link: http://go.umflint.edu/blst
- Black Thought & Culture
1700 to present. African-American authors of works of non-fiction, including articles, books, interviews, journal articles, letters, & other formats, covering all aspects of the black experience.
- Classical Music in Video
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
- Classical Music Library
Recordings, composer biographies & images, musical glossary; Middle Ages to present.
- Contemporary World Music
Streaming audio of contemporary music from around the world, including reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Counseling & Therapy in Video
Online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes Counseling Sessions and Demonstrations; Consultations; Lectures, presentations, and interviews; Teaching and Discussion Guides. Transcripts are included.
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
16th and 17th century theological writings by Protestant Reformers.
- Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
16th and 17th century Catholic theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises.
- Engineering Case Studies Online
In-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures, with video and text documents.
- Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic documentaries and interviews of anthropologists. The collection covers every region of the world and provides long-term perspectives on the study of regions and cultures, as well as the historical development of documentary film itself. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
- Filmakers [sic] Library Online
Documentaries on race & gender studies, human rights, globalization & global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science & current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. http://go.umflint.edu/flon
- Jazz Music Library
Streaming audio of every jazz genre and time period, featuring jazz artists from around the world. More than 130,000 tracks from scores of labels are represented. Mobile devices supported. Product is limited to three simultaneous users--if you experience a turn-away, please check back.
- March of Time
Time newsreels and docudramas, 1937-1967.
- Meet the Press
Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum that were televised 1947 through 2012. Upon completion, Meet the Press will include over 1500 hours of footage. All programs can be watched in streaming format. The Meet the Press database is fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others at UM-Flint.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present
The collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors, including documentaries, comedies, and dramas. All films were presented at major film festivals. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards. Film clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared with others. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
- North American Theatre Online
Comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year more than 20,000 new records will be added. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
- Obedience (Milgram Experiment)
Film of the famous social experiment, featuring the research of social psychologist Stanely Milgram.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women; extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays.
- Silent Film Online
Short- and long-form films from France, Germany, Italy, Russia, the U.K., the U.S., & others, 1890s - 1930s. Includes works by Lang, Eisenstein, Murnau Buster Keaton, Luis Bunuel, Cecil B. DeMille, D.W. Griffith, and Thomas Edison, and Soviet propaganda films.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this collection includes works from the world's musical and aural traditions.
- Theatre in Video
Streaming video of 250+ definitive performances of important plays.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books of instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave. Short URL: http://go.umflint.edu/adli
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary texts & commentary; dictionary of social movements and organizations; chronology of U.S. women's history; teaching tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the document projects; quarterly news from the archives about U.S. women.
- Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
Primary documents from women activists in social movements world-wide.
- World History in Video
Documentaries covering Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania, from earliest civilizations to the present.
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966
Streaming video capturing full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Includes the "March of Time" series. Short URL: http://go.umflint.edu/wnrv