Upon completion will contain all 1750 episodes of 60 Minutes from the period 1997-2014. 60 Minutes is a highly successful program, with 120 Emmy and Peabody awards, and is the longest continuously-running prime-time program in American television history.
Also includes 175 hours of CBS Sunday Morning. These programs are in high-definition streaming format.
Documentary films & newsreels of significant events in U.S. history, 1492-2001, and filmed 1898-2010.
Upon completion, American History in Video will contain over 5700 documentary films and newsreels (over 2000 hours) of significant events in U.S. history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.
Documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage covering history, politics, sociology, art, and culture.
Black Studies in Video is an Alexander Street Press collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Perspectives collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. Upon completion, Black Studies in Video will have about 500 hours of video, in streaming format.
Videos from Alexander Street Press can be downloaded to a phone or other portable device for viewing within 24 hours.
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video.
The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Films and documentaries on current issues in the news.
Current Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day. From the AIDS crisis in Africa to the worldwide impact of European economic instability, the growing interconnectedness of our world has informed a set of global priorities. This collection, growing to more than 500 hours of content allows students and scholars to view global events and trends through an interdisciplinary, multi-regional lens with a focus on core areas such as environmental policy; health policy; human rights, international justice and terrorism; institutional corruption; migration and the global economy; poverty; religious tension and conflict.
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies, experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes, documentaries by and about leading choreographers, videos on dance training, and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels.
Resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.
In-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures, with video and text documents.
Includes 250 hours of video, 50,000 pages of text resources, in-depth coverage for 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world, together with supplementary materials from more than 1,000 additional failures. All materials in this collection are cultivated by expert editors, with the assistance of an advisory board of engineering librarians and faculty. Materials come from a wide range of content partners, including the National Transportation Safety Board, BBC, Future Media, ABC, National Geographic, and engineering associations such as the American Society of Civil Engineers and the National Society of Professional Engineers.
Ethnographic documentaries and interviews of anthropologists.
The collection covers every region of the world and provides long-term perspectives on the study of regions and cultures, as well as the historical development of documentary film itself. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
Video streaming of over 1000 documentary films previously distributed by Filmakers Library.
Each film has a transcript; many include filmmaker biography and notes. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
Includes documentaries on race & gender studies, human rights, globalization & global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science & current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
A collection of text and video on human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
Includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
Documentaries from Latin America, in their original languages. Topics include human rights, immigration, popular culture, education, political history.
Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. It includes approximately 400 original-language documentaries—over 300 hours in all—from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. Issues include human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history.
Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum that were televised 1947 through 2012.
Upon completion, the collection will Include every surviving program from the show’s inception in 1947 through the end of 2013, roughly 1,600 hours of programming. (Roughly 500 hours are no longer extant.)
Notable programs include:
• Jackie Robinson's appearance in 1957 to discuss Civil Rights and his NAACP involvement
• Fidel Castro's appearance in 1959
• Several appearances by Indira Gandhi
• Colin Powell's 2008 endorsement of Barack Obama for US president
All programs can be watched in streaming format. The Meet the Press database is fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others at UM-Flint.
Modern independently-distributed feature films and short films, available in streaming video.
The collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors, including documentaries, comedies, and dramas. All films were presented at major film festivals. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards. Film clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared with others. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
Opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
Audio and video recordings of quintessential experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents.
Pairs audio and video recordings of quintessential experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents. It's packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials, including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports on topics from obedience to authority and from conformity to operant conditioning.
Classic films from the silent era, in streaming video.
Classic and little-known films from the silent era, the 1890s to 1930s. Feature films, shorts and serials are represented. Includes classics such as "Birth of a Nation", "Intolerance", "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" and Battleship Potemkin". Included are films distributed by British Film Institute National Archive, Cineteca Bologna and Lobster Films in Paris.
When complete, Silent Film Online will include films distributed by Flicker Alley, including several early films by Charlie Chaplin, Lumiere, Mendel, Cecil B. DeMille, and Abel Gance.
Provides streaming video access to original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater.
Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history.
Includes Theatre in Video Supplement, published June 2011.
NB: This resource is limited to three simultaneous users. If you cannot access it, please try again later.
Documentaries covering Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania, from earliest civilizations to the present.
Upon completion, World History in Video will contain over 1750 documentary films and newsreels (over 1000 hours) of significant events in world history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript; many include filmmaker biography and notes. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.
Newsreels of significant historical events in streaming format.
The full run of newsreels on significant historical events from throughout the 20th century. Includes the March of Time series, and selected videos from American History in Video and World History in Video, but adds new material from France, Japan, the Netherlands, and other countries throughout the world.
Each film has a transcript or translation. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android device, available for 48 hours.