Contains newspapers and pamphlets from England, Scotland, Ireland, India, the American Colonies, and Europe.
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of "news" and "newspapers" and the "free press," totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
Database of mainly English-language historical newspapers starting from 1607 and going to the present.
The database consists of digital images of original newspaper pages scanned from microfilm, which have been processed with Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technology to permit searching by keyword. The quality of the scanned images, and hence the accuracy of the keyword searching, varies widely. The largest number of holdings is 1880-2010 and is mainly from the United States, Canada, England, and Ireland, although there are some newspapers from other countries in other languages. More information from NewspaperArchive.com.
Please note: The holdings will list broad ranges of dates but NewspaperArchive.com does not necessarily contain all the issues in that time period. For instance, it lists the holding for Chicago’s News Journal as 1923-1977, yet has no issues from 1929 to 1968. Use the Browse tab to find more precise holdings information for specific titles.
To limit results to a particular state in America, you must first choose the United States as a country, and then the state you would like to search.
Full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
This online edition of The Daily Mail (1896-2004), a British tabloid newspaper, is fully searchable and browsable. As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, the Daily Mail Historical Archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the transatlantic liners that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.
Complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Searches content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled.
Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee: be sure to check Journal Finder to see if the Thompson Library provides access to a source before paying a fee for it. Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching. In addition to seeing results ranked by relevancy, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.
19th Century to Present: Which past years are covered, and what content is free, varies by each individual news source.
Provides cross-searching of 17 different British and American historical newspaper and periodical archive collections.
Provides cross-searching of 17 different historical newspaper and periodical archive collections, covering 1600-2010:
• 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
• 19th Century British Library Newspapers (pts.1 & 2)
• 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
• 19th Century UK Periodicals (Empire and New Readerships)
• British Newspapers, 1780-1950
• Daily Mail Historical Archive
• The Economist Historical Archive
• Financial Times Historical Archive
• Illustrated London News Historical Archive
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive
• The Listener Historical Archive
• The Picture Post Historical Archive
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive
• Times Digital Archive
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from around the world, including from national libraries, academic and public libraries, and a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories.
Currently contains four collections:
• Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
• British Politics and Society
• British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
• European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of The Guardian, 1821-2003 (published in Manchester, England) and The Observer, 1791-2003 (published in London, England). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2012.
Searchable access to more than 200 years of backfile issues of The Times newspaper of London, England, from its origin in 1785 through 2006, including full page facsimile images digitized from microfilm. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.