Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Featured content includes: Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports; Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data, Country Finance & Forecast Reports, and ViewsWire; First Research industry reports; Just-Series Market Research Reports; Oxford Analytica Daily Brief Service and Country Profiles; Oxford Economic Country Briefings; Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) Working Papers; and over 5,000 business case studies from Ivey, Thunderbird, Idea Group, and Darden.
Coverage varies by title; 1985-present. Local & regional news coverage of corporations, private companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, industries, local markets, etc. From major business tabloids, magazines, newspapers, wire services, & others.
Indexing and abstracts for over 3,040 business and management-oriented periodicals, with full text for articles from over 2,060 of them (including the Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition, 1984-present). Includes many publications relevant to related fields such as psychology, engineering, etc. Also includes full text of: 28,000+ dissertations and theses concerning business filed at universities from 1961 to 2007; 5,200 Business Cases from Ivey, Thunderbird, Idea Group, and Darden; EIU ViewsWire daily business intelligence briefings on over 200 countries (2003-present); and Going Global Career Guides for 23 countries (2004-2006).
1971-present. Latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, & more.
Includes the content of Ward's Business Directories, Market Share Reporter, International Directory of Company Histories, American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory, Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory, Encyclopedia of Global Industries, Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series, and other reference works.
Search this database using a company name, ticker symbol, industry code or description, geographic location or personal name.
Reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities. No sign-in is necessary to view content, but to download data, please create a personal account.
CCH IntelliConnect contains content formerly available from CCH Internet Research and CCH Internet Tax Research Networks. Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of (name of database)."
The DOT database contains time series data from 1980. Direction of Trade Statistics provides critical data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. It reports total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level.
No "sign in" is necessary to view content. If individual users want to download data, please create a personal account.
Economic Indicators provides statistical data both in tabular and graphic form and includes information on consumer and producer prices, employment, production, and money and banking. Tables typically display 10 years of annual data with the most recent 12 to 15 months broken out in detail. Covers 1948 - present.
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. This is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.
Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database. Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.
Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Includes these directories published annually:
• Business Rankings Annual
• Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
• Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
• Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
• Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations
• Gale Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media
• Publishers Directory
• Research Centers Directory
• Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans
• Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
Includes many cross-searchable databases covering most academic subjects and current events.
Includes: • Academic OneFile; • Business and Company ASAP; • Business Economics and Theory; • Communications and Mass Media Collection; • Computer Database; • Criminal Justice Collection; • Agriculture Collection; • Culinary Arts Collection; • Diversity Studies Collection; • Environmental Studies and Policy Collection; • Expanded Academic ASAP; Fine Arts and Music Collection; • Gale Virtual Reference Library; • Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection; • Gender Studies Collection; • General Business File ASAP; • General OneFile; • General Reference Center Gold; • General Science Collection; • Health Reference Center Academic; • Home Improvement Collection; • Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection; • Information Science and Library Issues Collection; • Informe Académico; • InfoTrac Newsstand; • Insurance and Liability Collection; • Junior Edition; • LegalTrac; • Military and Intelligence Database; • New York Times; • Nursing and Allied Health Collection; • Opposing Viewpoints In Context; • Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection; • Pop Culture Collection; • Popular Magazines; • Psychology Collection; • Religion and Philosophy Collection; • Small Business Collection; • Student Edition; • U.S. History Collection; • Vocations and Careers Collection; • War and Terrorism Collection; • World History Collection.
Emphasis is on transport, exchange, and consumption of commodities represented. Types of materials include business accounts, mercantile papers, government reports, dock records, and advertisements. Materials are drawn from several libraries, and cover these commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Use the drop-down boxes below to find the country, state, industry, or trade bloc you desire, or simply hit "Go" and begin exploring. Includes directory of resources allows you to find information ranging from culture and economic information to Trade Tutorials, Trade Law or even Statistical Data Sources. Compare Emerging Markets across several dimensions.
Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee: be sure to check Journal Finder to see if the Thompson Library provides access to a source before paying a fee for it. Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching. In addition to seeing results ranked by relevancy, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.
19th Century to Present: Which past years are covered, and what content is free, varies by each individual news source.
Using this authenticated link while off campus makes obtaining resources easier. Articles that are available at UM-Flint will have the link "Find full text @ UM-Flint," or a link directly to the article, or both. Citations can be exported into RefWorks and EndNote.
Contains downloadable data drawn from and updating the 3 volume print reference work International Historical Statistics 1750-2005. IHS covers a wide range of topics including: the economy, trade, population, labor, education, migration and transportation with data spanning 260 years (1750-2010). The data is organized by regions which are presented as: The Americas, Europe, and Asia + Oceania. Tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel documents.
Its purpose is to create jobs and economic growth by promoting U.S. companies; strengthening American competitiveness across all industries; addressing market access and compliance issues; administering U.S. trade laws; and undertaking a range of trade promotion and trade advocacy efforts.
3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Comprises 4 major components: 1) 10,000+ Company Profiles (includes company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, and product listings); 2) 2,000+ Industry Profiles (includes 5-year historical and 5-year market forecasts, market segmentations, company/product market shares, major trends/growth points and analysis of each market's competitive landscape); 3) 50+ Country Profiles (with info on the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of the potential for development, and a detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment); 4) News & Comment (analysts' reaction to breaking industry news, including merger and acquisition activity, product launches and regulatory changes, and effects on companies and consumers).
• MarketLine User Guide
• MarketLine Video Tutorials
Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of (name of database)."
Publications (full text):
- Key Labor Market and Economic Metrics
- Michigan's Labor Market News
- Michigan Industry Highlights
- Regional Long-Term Industry Forecasts (2010 - 2020)
- Regional Long-Term Occupational Forecasts (2010-2020)
- Regional Prosperity Initiatives
... and more.
- Business Resources
- Workforce Partners
- Economic Developers
- Industry Information
- Occupational Information
- Press Releases
... and more.
Information on nearly twenty-four million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies (software, etc.) used at a company. D&B Hoovers aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, StatUSA.
Online versions can be downloaded free; print copies of many titles are available for browsing at the Thompson Library, or for purchase from the publisher. These print titles are available in the Thompson Library's Ready Reference collection (3rd floor):
• Anatomy & Physiology
• Concepts of Biology
• College Physics
• Introductory Statistics
• Principles of Economics
• Principles of Macroeconomics
• Principles of Microeconomics
• U.S. History
To order a low-cost printed copy of a book, visit the OpenStax College website.
Orbis has information about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from 46 countries, 16 million US and Canadian companies, 6.5 million South and Central American companies, 1.3 million Japanese companies, 300,000 Chinese companies, and 90,000 African companies. Orbis includes information about 30,000 banks and 8,000 insurance companies.
Includes the following databases. which may also be searched individually:
• ABI/INFORM Complete
• COS Conference Papers Index
• COS Scholar Universe
• ebrary e-books
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business (1639 - current)
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland: Business
• ProQuest Historical Annual Reports (1844-present)
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
• ProQuest Research Library: Business
• Women's Wear Daily Archive
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research. PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Social Sciences
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Combined access to all subscribed ProQuest news source databases, including ProQuest Newsstand, Gannett Newsstand, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers, as well as ABI/INFORM Dateline, Alt-Press Watch, American Periodicals, and Ethnic NewsWatch. Includes full text of thousands of newspapers, dozens of news wire services, and many news-oriented magazines and periodicals, from the past up to the present. Includes both major and smaller English-language newspapers from around the world and across the U.S., as well as selected newspapers in Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Polish, and other languages.
1974-present. Includes statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports on health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades. Requires Java. Firefox and Internet Explorer recommended. Does not work with Safari.
The University of Michigan has purchased a system wide site license for this service. Therefore, subject to conditions outlined by the vendor and the University of Michigan, there is no limit on the number of surveys that can be created using Qualtrics.
To create a Qualtrics account, visit: http://umflint.qualtrics.com. Click on the "Please click here to create an account" link at the bottom left of the screen. You MUST use your FULL UM-Flint email address (i.e. email@example.com) as your username. You can select whatever password you like (it does NOT have to be your LAN password). You will be emailed a link to verify your account. NOTE: You are only allowed to create one account in Qualtrics, so it is important that you remember the password you use. If you forget your password, click the "Forgot your password?" link and provide your email address. Qualtrics will email you a link to reset it. More info
Routledge Handbooks Online is a collection of over 400 handbooks in 18 subject areas, including archaeology, Asian studies, business, classics, communications, criminal justice, economics, education, environment, health, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, politics, psychology, security, sociology, sports and tourism. All chapters are searchable, browsable and fully indexed. Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs and are DRM-free. Each book includes an image gallery.
Industry-leading access to comprehensive financials, breaking news, proprietary regulatory research, market pricing, and fundamentals of supply and demand set the standard for intelligence on the power, natural gas, coal and renewable markets, driving critical energy investment decisions.
Once you log in with your UMICH password, you are taken to a screen with additional login information using a special username and password. Please do not share these usernames and passwords with others. These electronic resources are licensed from the publisher and the conditions of the license prohibit access by individuals not affiliated with the University of Michigan. Any unauthorized use of our system is a violation of our license and may result in suspension of access.
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching). Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers. Covers 1995-present. with limited earlier coverage.
Searchable access to the backfile of the Wall Street Journal newspaper (Eastern Edition) from the first issue on July 8, 1889 through the December 31st issue of 17 years ago. (One year of additional content from 17 years ago is added annually.) Reproduces the complete full text of every issue in its original printed form, in full page images digitized from microfilm. Note: For searchable access to the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1995 to the present, use ABI/INFORM. For combined searchable access to the complete backfile from 1889 up through today's issue, use ProQuest News & Newspapers.
Includes: • Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present) • BIOSIS Previews (1926-present) • Current Contents Connect (1998-present) • Data Citation Index (1900-present) • Zoological Record (1864-present) • Journal Citation Reports (1997-present) at top edge
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over millions of journal articles, thousands of online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases, many of which are accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the UM-Flint. Included are the online journals and books previously published by Blackwell Publishing Ltd., which merged with John Wiley & Sons, Inc. in 2007.
Based on theses held by over 57,000 libraries worldwide (including most libraries in North America, and the national libraries of Australia and many Western European countries). Incorporates all records from the Research Libraries Group (RLG) Union Catalog (RLIN). Includes many titles from European countries not included in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses.
Covers five years back for international deals; 1997-present for deals involving European & U.S. companies.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Zephyr." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
The export/download function is designed to work best from Internet Explorer.