LibGuides: Supply Chain &amp; Operations Management: A Guide to Library Research: Statistical Resources

Statistics / Finance / Demographics / Other

Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Business & residential addresses, and some related statistical data.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Background historical, demographic, and other information on every country in the world as well as most territories.
IMF Data This link opens in a new window
Data and analysis of international trade, monetary and fiscal issues, and other global economic matters from the International Monetary Fund.
IMF Data contains international financial statistics (IFS), balance of payments statistics (BOPS), direction of trade statistics (DOTS), government finance statistics (GFS) covering more than 200 countries and areas. Data can be exported in Excel, CSV, Tab delimited, and HTML formats.

No sign-in is necessary to view content. If individual users want to download data, please create a personal account.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
Historical statistics (1750-2010) on the economics, populations, labor force, education, and transportation of nations.
Contains downloadable data drawn from and updating the 3 volume print reference work International Historical Statistics 1750-2005. IHS covers a wide range of topics including: the economy, trade, population, labor, education, migration and transportation with data spanning 260 years (1750-2010). The data is organized by regions which are presented as: The Americas, Europe, and Asia + Oceania. Tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel documents.

International Labour Organization - Statistics
International Trade Administration - US Dept of Commerce
The International Trade Administration assists in the development of U.S. trade policy in the global economy.
more info...less info...
Its purpose is to create jobs and economic growth by promoting U.S. companies; strengthening American competitiveness across all industries; addressing market access and compliance issues; administering U.S. trade laws; and undertaking a range of trade promotion and trade advocacy efforts.
International Trade Centre: Investment Map
Foreign Direct Investment Statistics and Foreign Affiliates Data
LogisticsWorld
Directory of logistics resources on the internet.
more info...less info...
This site helps find logistics companies, logistics providers, supply chain consultants, supply chain management, freight forwarders, freight companies, trucking companies, moving companies, movers, shipping companies, air freight, air carriers, ocean freight, ship lines, rail freight, third party logistics providers, warehouses, freight transportation and more. Logistics World acts as a guide to sites related to logistics, logistics management, freight, transportation, supply chain management, warehousing, distribution, maintenance, manufacturing, management, travel, tourism, reliability, business, and quality sites on the web.
Industry & Analysis (U.S. International Trade Administration)
Trade analysis to create and implement innovative trade and investment strategies for U.S. businesses.
more info...less info...
-Evaluates the potential effects of U.S government regulations and domestic policies on industries.

-Maximizes U.S. gains in trade negotiations and support the enforcement of U.S. trade laws.

-Provides trade and industry data to underpin the development of national economic policies

Orbis M&A This link opens in a new window
Global information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offerings (IPO), Private Equity (PE), and Venture Capital (VC) deals.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database. No guest access.
Information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offering (IPO), Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals, going back five years for international deals and back to 1997 for deals involving European and American companies.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database.Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Zephyr is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact kresge_library@umich.edu.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Orbis." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
Indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications. . Firefox recommended. Does not work with Safari.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
Sources include: U.S. government sources such as the census, Department of Labor statistics, FBI, and National Climatic Data Center; Mediamark Research Inc (MRI) Consumer Survey, EASI Analytic Life Stages, EASI Health Care, Nielsen PRIZM Consumer Buying Power, Nielsen Retail Market Power; and Nielsen Financial CLOUT datasets.

Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS.

Users need to create their own account with @umich.edu email address in order to be able to save work. If you do not wish to create a personal account, you may log in as a guest.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics.
Ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
Survey of Current Business This link opens in a new window
Data on business activity with estimates & analysis of US economic activity.
Monthly publication of the Bureau of Economic Analysis (US Dept of Commerce) on business activity with estimates & analysis of US economic activity. Includes articles on the national, regional and international economic accounts and related topics, a column describing the current business situation and statistical tables highlighting national income and product accounts. Statistical section has tables for approximately 270 series as well as charts for about 130 series.

Back issues from July 1921 to present available at: http://www.bea.gov/scb/date_guide.asp
UN Comtrade - United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
Global statistics from the Statistics Division, Department of Economic & Social Affairs, United Nations.

Supply Chain & Operations Management: A Guide to Library Research

Have a Question? Need Some Help?

Statistics / Finance / Demographics / Other