This is the "Articles" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice   Tags: criminal justice, criminology, law enforcement, social sciences  

Last Updated: Nov 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umflint.edu/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles

To find articles published about criminal justice, you can begin by using the Summon box to the right of this box, or try some of the suggested databases just underneath the Summon search.

Criminal Justice Abstracts and Violence & Abuse Abstracts are indexes, which means they will allow you to search for and find out about articles published about criminal justice topics, but they won't contain the full text of articles that you find.  

Oxford, SAGE, Info Trac, and Social Sciences Full Text will allow you to search journals within a certain discipline and access full text versions of the articles that come up in the results.

If we don't have the article you need, and you are a student, staff or faculty at UM-Flint, we will get it for you from a library that does have it.  This is a free service called Interlibrary Loan (see the box below for more information about ILL).

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided to faculty, staff and students to supplement the Library's collection.  You can request materials (books, articles, etc.) from other libraries around the world with this service.  Simply fill out the form after logging into the ILLIAD system to request an item.

This is a different service from Get This, which will request materials available on the Ann Arbor campus.

 

What is Peer Review?

Peer review is the process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals).  Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication. 

 

Summon Search

Criminal Justice Databases to Start With

Hover your mouse over the name of the resource to see how to search for only criminal justice articles within that resource.

Other Criminal Justice Related Databases

  • JSTOR  
      
    3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  
      
    Includes full-text dissertations from all UM and CIC/Big Ten Universities. THIS DATABASE IS BEING SUPERSEDED BY PROQUEST DISSERTATIONS & THESES GLOBAL (SEE BELOW). PLEASE UPDATE ANY BOOKMARKS.

Meet your Criminal Justice Liaison Librarian!

Profile Image
Emily Newberry
Contact Info
314 Thompson Library
Drop by my office anytime the door is open
810.424.5302
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip