ebrary User Guide

Quick Introduction to ebrary Reader

ebrary is one of the largest ebook databases that the library subscribes to. Its books show up in the results from the "Search All," "Library Catalog," and "E-book" search box on the library's homepage. This guide will help you read and download books from ebrary.


About ebrary

ebrary includes access to ebrary Academic Complete (70,000+ academic ebooks), ebrary Public Library Complete (27,000+ public library ebook titles), and individual books purchased on the ebrary platform.

ebrary Academic Complete is a growing and changing collection of 70,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas, including:

    * Business & Economics
    * Computers & IT
    * Education 
    * Engineering & Technology
    * History & Political Science 
    * Humanities
    * Interdisciplinary & Area Studies
    * Language, Literature & Linguistics
    * Law, International Relations & Public Policy
    * Life Sciences
    * Medical
    * Nursing & Allied Health
    * Physical Sciences
    * Psychology & Social Work
    * Religion, Philosophy & Classics
    * Sociology & Anthropology

Includes mainly secondary works from university presses and other academic publishers first published in recent decades, but also selected classic works dating as far back as William Harvey's Circulation of the Blood, originally published in 1628.  Nearly all works are in the English language, though some are in other European languages (German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and Dutch).

ebrary Public Library Complete is a collection of 27,000+ ebooks in topics such as literature and poetry, career information, arts and leisure (art, cooking, photography, crafts, television & film, music, sports, travel), practical life skills (home repair, parenting, personal finance, pets, and real estate), personal health, school and studying, and children's books.  The collection includes nearly 5,000 titles in Spanish, including literature, history, and translations of English literature into Spanish.

ebrary content can be downloaded to iPad, iPhone, etc.  For instructions, go to the "Download and Print ebooks" page on this guide or to the ebrary Support Center.

Note:  Printing and downloading from most of these books is limited to a maximum of "up to 60 pages" per book, or less--the page number limit for printing and downloading varies from book to book, and may be as low as 10 pages. For more information, see the "Download and Print ebooks" page on this guide or the ebrary Support Center website.

Chat with a Librarian

More Info

Content Type: E-books

Coverage: 1628-present

More help: