1740-1940. Special interest & general magazines; literary & professional journals; children's & women's magazines; other historically significant periodicals. Also available on microfilm; check Mirlyn for titles.
Includes approximately 8,000 previously published short stories as well as previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts. Fables and folktales are also widely represented within the collection.
Reader's discovery tool. Explore fiction and nonfiction, read-alike books, award winners, and librarian's favorites lists.
From the publisher: "Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation."
Online collection of British literary manuscripts from the Middle Ages to 1900.
Includes facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. This collection was created by digitizing microfilm collections. Includes two modules: Medieval & Renaissance, and 1660-1900, which may be searched together or separately.
Please note that users are unable to search the text of the manuscripts themselves. However, it is possible to search catalog records, descriptive text, and tags associated with each manuscript.
Full-text bio-bibliographical guide to over 149,000 current and recently prominent writers in all media.
Covers writers of fiction, poetry, drama, general non-fiction, print & broadcast journalism, cartoonists, editors, screenwriters, etc. Current cumulative edition. (Covers currently active and recently deceased writers.)
Covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material.
Online searchable indexes to and directories of authors, editors, publishers, and titles in poetry and small press publishing.
Includes four unique databases which must be searched independently: International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses; Directory of Poetry Publishers; Directory of Small Press/Magazine Editors & Publishers; Small Press Record of Books in Print.
Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of 26 million pages; access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science & more.
Encyclopedia of all of the world’s known living languages.
Produced by SIL, the Summer Institute in Linguistics. Organized by world area, UN region and country. Lists alternate language and dialect names. Includes estimate of number of speakers, writing scripts used, availability of literature. Includes statistical information and language maps.
Simultaneous searching of three premier literature resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. In-depth information on the lives and writings of over 100,000 authors.
Contemporary Authors provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select collects more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Using this authenticated link while off campus makes obtaining resources easier. Articles that are available at UM-Flint will have the link "Find full text @ UM-Flint," or a link directly to the article, or both. Citations can be exported into RefWorks and EndNote.
Covers 1,500+ periodicals across all humanities and social sciences fields. 1907-present (indexing); 1984-present (abstracts); 1994-present (selected full text).
Combines Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Social Science Abstracts into a single file with Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, covering all humanities and social sciences fields, including: Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Community Health, Criminology, Dance, Economics, Environmental studies, Ethics, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Book publishers, literary agents, & other publishing industry; requires free registration for addresses; more detailed information requires paid subscription (available in print at Reference PN 161 .L5).
Provides searchable, online access to volumes from ten different series reproducing excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds and periods of literature.
• Children's Literature Review
• Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
• Contemporary Literary Criticism
• Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
• Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
• Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism
• Short Story Criticism
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Online access to all articles in all issues of Europe's largest-circulation literary magazine.
1979-present. Publishes intellectual essays combining topicality with depth and scholarship with good writing, on topics ranging from political commentary to science, ancient history, literary criticism and social anthropology. Publishes 24 issues per year, each containing up to 15 long reviews and essays by academics, writers and journalists, along with shorter art and film reviews, poems, and letters to the editor.
Journals & series indexed in the Modern Language Association Bibliography. Contact info, frequency of publication, descriptions of scope, circulation figures, subscription & advertising info, submission guidelines, and information on peer review status.
1923-present. National literatures of 200+ nations; linguistics; semantics; stylistics; syntax; translation; literature, literary theory & criticism; dramatic arts; history of printing & publishing; rhetoric & composition; folk culture; belief systems.
1963-present. Online access to all issues of one of the premier literary-intellectual magazines in the English language. Essays and reviews of books and the arts, including music, theater, dance, and film, many by writers who are themselves major forces in world literature and thought.
Covers more than 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present, written in or translated into English.
Covers more than 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present, representing a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Allows searching for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); and cast type. Includes descriptive annotations with plot summaries, musical requirements, number of sets, scenery requirements, etc.
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research. PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Social Sciences
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. Most subjects covered.
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. Provides full text for articles from over 3,600 of these journals and magazines. Includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas extensively.
Compiles Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1878-1985, Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1985-1991, and Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1992-1995, including material located since publication of the last printed volume.
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women poets between 1789 and 1832. Also includes extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays from 1781 to 1905.
Scottish Women Poets contains full text of some 60 volumes of poetry from approximately 50 poets such as Agnes Lyon, Carolina Oliphant, Catherine Ward, Dorothea Primrose Campbell, Frances Chadwick, Margaretta Wedderburn, Jessie Stewart. Also included are bio-biographical sketches of most authors, a bibliography of essays and critical works, and a guide to web resources. Other content includes:
• A critical introduction establishing the critical and historical context for the poetry in this archive.
• A bibliographical introduction and a general bibliography.
• A bibliographical essay about the primary and secondary texts and criticism pertaining to Scottish women poets in this period, including links to Web resources where available.
• Selected secondary critical essays and reviews by major scholars such as Catherine Burroughs, Stephen Behrendt, Kari Lokke, Dorothy MacMillan, Donna Landry, Bridget Keegan, and Adriana Craciun.
Index to more than 250,000 short stories written in or translated into English, including full text for 5,000 of them.
An index to more than 250,000 short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in over 4,200 collections and anthologies, and in the hundreds of periodicals covered by Readers Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index. Includes full text of nearly 5,000 stories, with links to the full text of thousands more available in the HathiTrust Digital Library.
Includes stories originally published since 1830 that have appeared in collections, anthologies and periodicals published from 1915 - present.
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2008.
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement, 1902-2008. Offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages – as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
Primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.
Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Linguistic maps detailing the distribution of languages, dialects, words, and grammatical features.
The maps are selected from De Gruyter linguistic atlases and books. High-resolution linguistic maps enriched with detailed metadata allow searching by sub-discipline, language or dialect, geographical location, year or century described, map caption or description, map author, book author, book title, year of publication, and full text. Map interface allows zooming, printing, and PDF export. Maps are in English and German; metadata is in English for comprehensive searching.