LibGuides: Library Services and Resources for Faculty: Scholarly Publishing & Activity

Research Resources for Getting Started

Research and Sponsored Programs | UM-Flint
Campus office dedicated to helping faculty and students with their research opportunities and funding.

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Profiles of U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, recent grants made, etc.
Profiles over 105,000 U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, geographic emphasis, trustees & officers, application process, deadlines, high, low & average grants, and lists of recent grants made. Also provides access to recent tax returns for private foundations as submitted to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (Form 990-PF's). Updated biweekly.
Grants Index This link opens in a new window
Information on previously awarded grants worldwide to support researchers’ efforts to secure new funding.
Discover awarded grants from the leading government and private funding agencies from around the world. Search by Topic, Principal Investigator, Funding Agency and Grant Type.
Multidisciplinary.
- Refine and analyze results to discover funding trends.
- Link to associated Web of Science Core Collection documents.
Pivot This link opens in a new window
Directory of researchers & funding opportunities combining COS Funding Opportunities & COS Scholar Universe.
Pivot is a directory of researchers and research funding opportunities that combines two comprehensive, editorially maintained databases: the COS Funding Opportunities database of over 400,000 funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion, and the COS Scholar Universe database of 3 million profiles of scholars worldwide. Its proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to an organization (such as University of Michigan) and matches them to relevant current funding opportunities. Searching for a given scholar will link to matching funding opportunities. Updated continuously.

Note: Access to personalized features requires personal registration and login. COS Pivot replaces the former COS Expertise service.
Dimensions Plus This link opens in a new window
Grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents; helps find and access relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Dimensions Plus brings together various research-related data sources in a venue that is consistent and accessible to the community. Data include grant information and also information on several publication types, including Books, Journal Articles, Conference Proceedings, and Patents. Dimensions Plus provides the community with a data discovery engine that offers both context and perspective.
Michigan Experts This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of research expertise across disciplines at the University of Michigan.
Michigan Research Experts (formerly Michigan Experts) is a searchable database of research expertise that profiles faculty in selected schools, colleges, institutes and research centers at the University of Michigan. It has been developed to foster intramural and extramural collaborations, and interdisciplinary research. It contains publication citations (extracted from a variety of indexes including Scopus, Web of Science, etc.), grants, and patents data.
U-M Sustainability Experts Database This link opens in a new window
Directory of U-M faculty with expertise in sustainability projects and goals.
From the website: "The Graham Institute catalyzes and facilitates sustainability-focused collaborations involving faculty, students, and external stakeholders. We link knowledge to real-world impact by supporting collaborative teams spanning multiple topics, disciplines, and sectors. And we believe diversity, equity, and inclusion are key to empowerment and the advancement of sustainability."

Searchable in the following goal areas:
- No Poverty
- Zero Hunger
- Good Health and Well-Being
- Quality Education
- Gender Equality
- Clean Water and Sanitation
- Affordable and Clean Energy
- Decent Work and Economic Growth
- Industry Innovation and Infrastructure
- Reduced Inequalities
- Sustainable Cities and Communities
- Responsible Consumption and Production
- Climate Action
- Life Below Water
- Life on Land
- Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
- Partnerships for the Goals

Research Tools

DMPTool
The DMPTool is a free, open-source, online application that helps researchers create data management plans. These plans, or DMPs, are now required by many funding agencies as part of the grant proposal submission process. The DMPTool provides a click-through wizard for creating a DMP that complies with funder requirements. It also has direct links to funder websites, help text for answering questions, and resources for best practices surrounding data management.
more info...less info...
Login using the University of Michigan as your institution.

JSTOR Text Analyzer (BETA) This link opens in a new window
Tool for finding important topics and keywords within a text and matching them to JSTOR content. Upload text or a text file for analysis.
Many formats can be uploaded, including csv, doc, docx, gif, htm, html, jpg, jpeg, json, pdf, png, pptx, rtf, tif / tiff, txt, xlsx, text copied from a document, or the URL to a document.

You can adjust your results by adding or removing "prioritized terms," changing the publication dates for results, or including non-subscribed content.

This product is still in beta testing.
Qualtrics This link opens in a new window
Tool used for creating and distribution online surveys, data storage, and analysis.
EndNote This link opens in a new window
Citation management package. Provides 2GB of file storage (up to 50,000 references), and supports citations in the 20 most popular bibliographic styles. Requires creation of a free account.
- Thompson Library video tutorials for using EndNote
- Publisher documentation about EndNote
Mac users: See "more info..." below for important information.
Supports these bibliographic styles:
- APA 7th
- Chicago 17th
- JAMA
- MLA 8th
- Refman (RIS) Export
- Turabian 9th
- Vancouver
- Many others
Mac users: Some people have reported issues with their EndNote accounts syncing with their laptops, e.g., in Cite While You Write. EndNote passwords do not work properly if they contain special characters ( ! and $ are especially problematic), so EndNote recommends that you change password by substituting "@" for whatever special character you were using, log back into the Word plugin, and then close Word and reopen it. This should resolve the issue. This problem seems to be specifically a Mac issue.

Publishing Resources

Scholarly Publishing | UM-Ann Arbor Library's Copyright Office
This guide offers tips for scholarly authors who are looking to publish their research. While some of the services linked to in this guide are limited to the University of Michigan community, we have also included general advice and information relevant to authors everywhere.

Deep Blue Data This link opens in a new window
Repository of digital data developed or used in support of research activities on all three UM campuses. (For repository documents, see Deep Blue Documents.)
University of Michigan affiliates from all three campuses can submit their work on this site.
Deep Blue Documents This link opens in a new window
As the institutional repository for the University of Michigan, Deep Blue is the scholarly record of of the University. Faculty should deposit their finished research (articles, papers, conference presentations, etc.) into the proper Deep Blue collection, typically organized around a department, school, or college. For more information and to contact Deep Blue follow this link: https://deepblue.lib.umich.edu/static/about/index.html
UM affiliates from all three campuses can submit their work for inclusion in Deep Blue Documents.

ORCID
"ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. " It is a free service from a nonprofit group.
Open Editors
Project to build a dataset of journal editors and editorial board members by scraping the websites of multiple publishers, including APA, Cambridge, Elsevier, Sage, and a dozen more. Other publishers will likely be added in the next release.

re3data.org : Registry of Research Data Repositories This link opens in a new window
Worldwide registry of research data repositories in multiple disciplines.
- Why choose this? re3data.org is a worldwide registry of research data repositories in multiple disciplines.
- Target audience: Researchers, scholarly institutions, funding bodies, and publishers.
- What it covers: Repositories around the world and their research datasets.
- Special features: Most of the repository datasets are open access or only require registration.

Open Access APC Discounts Through the Library

Some of the library's subscriptions to journals and databases can help cover the article processing charges (APCs) for open access publishing. U-M Flint faculty researchers who publish with the following presses can either get discounted or waived APCs if their article is accepted.

Cambridge University Press: in 2021 the Thompson Library signed onto Cambridge's Read and Publish program program, allowing UM-Flint faculty to publish in Cambridge's 370+ Open Access Journals
BioMed Central (BMC): our institutional membership gives a 15% discount of the APC
DeGruyter Journals: Corresponding U-M authors from all three campuses are entitled to a full waiver of the Article Processing Charge (APC) in De Gruyter’s 285+ hybrid journals and a 15% discount on the APC in their 100+ pure open access journals. See more details about the agreement on the De Gruyter website.
Elsevier: The University Library has negotiated an agreement with Elsevier which entitles U-M authors from all three campuses to a 10% discount on the open access fee. You can use Elsevier's Journal Search Tool to find eligible titles.
IOP Publishing: as part of the Big Ten Academic Alliance, corresponding U-M authors from all three campuses are now able to publish their articles open access in IOP journals, as well as in many of IOP’s society partner journals, at no cost. Details about the agreement are available at the IOP website.
Microbiology Society: as part of the Big Ten Academic Alliance, U-M authors are now able to publish their articles open access in all Microbiology Society journals, both hybrid and fully open access titles. See the section called Fee-free Open Access via Publish and Read on the society website for more information.
Sage: The University Library has an agreement which entitles U-M authors from all three campuses to a 10% discount on the open access publishing charge (APC) for articles published in Sage's pure gold open access journals.
Springer: SpringerOpen institutional membership gives a 15% discount of the APC
Public Library of Science (PLoS): through the Big Ten Team Alliance all APCs are waived when publishing in PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine
Taylor & Francis: The University Library has negotiated an agreement which entitles U-M authors from all three campuses to a 10% discount on the open access article publishing charge (APC) for articles published in Taylor & Francis and Routledge full open access and Open Select (hybrid) journals. You can use Taylor & Francis' open access cost finder tool to identify eligible journals.
Wiley: through the Big Ten Team Alliance a pool of article credits which allow U-M authors to publish their articles in Wiley's hybrid open access journals at no cost to them, covers articles accepted for publication between February 1 - December 31, 2022. When the credits are used up, a 10% discount will be applied to all additional articles.

Article Publishing Charge Discounts for U-M authors
List maintained by the UM-AA Library

Predatory Publishing

There has been an explosion in the number of open access journals in recent years. While many are serious scholarly projects that make a solid contribution to academia, some are of dubious intellectual value, and exist primarily to enrich their publishers through publishing fees.

Think Check Submit
Think. Check. Submit. is a campaign to help researchers identify trusted journals for their research. It is a simple checklist researchers can use to assess the credentials of a journal or publisher.

No More 'Beall's List' (via Inside HigherEd)
Librarian removes controversial list of "predatory" journals and publishers, reportedly in response to "threats and politics."
more info...less info...
Jeffrey Beall, a librarian at the University of Colorado Denver, compiled lists of open access publishers and individual open access journals that he believes use unethical and/or unscholarly business models, based on various criteria.

Journal and Scholar Rankings

CiteScore This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly citation metrics for documents in academic and trade journals, book series, and conference proceedings. Covers the previous three calendar years, with current-year data added monthly.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank This link opens in a new window
Portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. Shows h-index for journals.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
1997-present. Information to assist in determining the importance of particular journals within subject categories. Covers thousands of scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Includes Science and Social Sciences Editions. Mobile app available.
ISI Highly Cited Researchers This link opens in a new window
Authors of papers ranking in the top 1% by citations for a field or fields and publication year in the Web of Science, representing the most cited 0.1% of scholars in the sciences and social sciences.
Highly Cited Researchers "represents some of world's leading scientific minds. Over three thousand researchers earned the distinction by writing the greatest numbers of reports officially designated by Essential Science Indicators as Highly Cited Papers, ranking among the top 1% most cited for their subject field and year of publication, earning them the mark of exceptional impact." H-Index included
Mobile app available.
SciVal This link opens in a new window
Quick, easy access to research performance of more than 16,700 research institutions and their associated researchers.
A web-based analytics solution that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 14,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide. SciVal allows you to visualize your research performance, benchmark progress relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.

**All users will need to sign in with their Elsevier account to access SciVal.**

If you have already created an account with Elsevier on one of their platforms (ScienceDirect, Scopus, Embase, Engineering Village, Reaxys, or Mendeley), you will use that same login to access SciVal. If you have not previously created an Elsevier account, you will need to first register.

Link to create Elsevier account

This is a one-year trial subscription through February, 2021. Please send feedback to pgstreby@umich.edu.
Essential Science Indicators This link opens in a new window
Research institution performance statistics extrapolated from Web of Science indexing of scholarly journal citations. Mobile app available.
Essential Science Indicators is a unique compilation of institutional research performance statistics and trends extrapolated from counts of articles published in scholarly journals and the citations to those articles.

Article counts for Essential Science Indicators are derived from 11,855 journals indexed in Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index only) over a 10-year period. Citation counts for these articles are derived from journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index. and Arts & Humanities Citation Index).

Each journal is assigned to one of 22 research fields. In ESI, a journal can be assigned to only one field. Journals such as Science and Nature are categorized as multidisciplinary since they publish research in many different fields. As a result, individual papers published in these multidisciplinary journals are assigned to a field based on the representation of the cited journals. For example, if the majority of cited references in the paper are to neuroscience journals, the paper is then categorized as neuroscience.

Papers are defined as regular scientific articles and review articles . Letters to the editor, corrections, and abstracts are excluded.

The years shown in ESI reports are publication years, unless otherwise indicated. ESI indicators are calculated from 10 full years of data.

ESI is updated six times a year. The most recent update may add documents published in the previous year, in which case metrics based on the previous publication year may be adjusted.
Cabells International This link opens in a new window
Directory providing publishing information on academic journals in Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, and Educational Technology & Library Science.
Cabells includes journals in the list based on multiple factors including peer review, licensing policies, integrity, fees, ethical guidelines, sponsorship, and more. These directories assist researchers in the organizing and preparing of manuscripts by providing the publishing information of thousands of academic journals, including subject areas emphasized by each journal, type of review process, acceptance rate, number of reviewers, time required for review, and availability of reviewer comments. Some specific manuscript submission guidelines are also provided.
Altmetric Explorer This link opens in a new window
Tracks "mentions" on the web in various sources (Twitter, Facebook, Reddit, etc.). Browse, search, and query mentions of publications and other output by researchers at U-M and elsewhere.
Altmetric Explorer for Institutions is a dashboard that allows users to browse, search, and query Altmetric data about "mentions" on the web of publications and other research outputs associated with researchers and departments at the University of Michigan--and elsewhere. The tool can be used to find and connect with readers of your work; to understand and communicate about online engagement with the work of any given researcher or department, or to see which research is most often mentioned in the news, cited in policy, etc. The University of Michigan is conducting a one-year pilot that will allow all affiliated users at the Ann Arbor, Dearborn, and Flint campuses to access the Altmetric Explorer.

Altmetric has a large and ever-growing set of sources where they look for mentions, since October 2011. (Start date of tracking varies by source.) It includes:
- More than 2,000 different news and media outlets (e.g., The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Vox, Salon, Huffington Post, etc.)
- Publicly visible posts on social media (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Reddit, etc.)
- Academic social platforms (Mendeley, F1000)
- Selected scholarly/academic blogs (e.g., Scholarly Kitchen)
- Collections of book reviews (e.g., Bryn Mawr Classical Review)
- Wikipedia
- Policy documents (e.g., Gov.UK, IMF, WHO, etc.)
- Syllabi in the Open Syllabus Project

Retraction Watch Database
Searchable database of retracted articles, chapters, dissertations, and other academic publications.

h-index

The H-index is a popular measure of publishing impact, where an author's H-index is represented by the number of papers (h) with a citation number ≥ h.

For example, a scientist with an H-index of 14 has published numerous papers, 14 of which have been cited at least 14 times each.

Note: H-index values often vary significantly by database, as each database contains different sources (e.g., peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, or grey literature) and thus different citation counts.

The following databases will calculate h-indexes for researchers.

Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
1. Click "Web of Science" above
2. In the search box, click "More" and then "Author"
3. Perform author search, then click "Create Citation Report" on the top right of the results page
Database Types: Datasets; Journals & Articles; Resource Platform; Search Engine

Includes:
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE (1950-present)
- Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (2002-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)
- Journal Citation Reports (1997-present) upper right under Products

Scopus This link opens in a new window
1. Click "Scopus" above
2. In the search box, click "Authors" and perform search
3. Click on the desired author name
4. See H-index on left side of author profile page
5. Click "Analyze Author Output" for additional citation data
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching). Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers, 1995-present, with limited earlier coverage.
Google Scholar @ UM-Flint This link opens in a new window
1.Click "Google Scholar" above
2. In the main search box, enter author's name or search by article title
3. In the search results page, click on the author's name to view their Google Scholar profile. (Note: not all authors have Google Scholar profiles; underlined author names indicate that a profile page exists)
Using this authenticated link makes obtaining resources easier. Articles that are available at UM-Flint will have the link "Find full text @ UM-Flint," or a link directly to the article, or both. Citations can be exported into EndNote.

If you have a ResearchGate account, you can also get an h-index through them:

"Introducing the h-index on ResearchGate" | 8 Mar 2016
How to calculate your h-index through Researchgate.

The H-Index of journals is available through SCImago.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank This link opens in a new window
Portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. Shows h-index for journals.

Higher Education News & Professional Development

The following resources are geared to help faculty with professional development and education.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
1989-present. Online edition of the weekly newspaper, plus data from the Almanac of Higher Education, blogs, job postings, etc.
Online edition of the U.S.'s major news source for higher education. Includes text of every news article and essay from all weekly print issues published since September 1989, supplemented with all daily website-only updates and new-media extras such as slide shows, podcasts, and videos published since May 1998. Also includes blogs, job postings, The Chronicle Review weekly magazine and complete data from the annual Almanac of Higher Education since 1995, including demographics, enrollment, staff salaries, tuition fees, test scores, and more state by state, with additional sections for: Administrator Data, including pay and benefits of presidents; Financial & Institutional Data, including gifts and endowments, statistics on crime, graduation rates, degrees conferred, and Congressional earmarks for higher education; Faculty Data, including salaries, race and ethnicity, and scholarly productivity; and Student Data, including characteristics, enrollment, financial aid, foreign students, and test scores.

About personal Chronicle.com accounts (optional):

Current U-M Flint faculty, students, and staff may create personal Chronicle.com accounts that will also give them full access to the Chronicle website from anywhere provided that they enter their personal U-M email address (ending in @umich.edu) as the email address for the account. To create a personal Chronicle.com account, click on the Sign In link that appears at the top right of the Chronicle website or visit https://www.chronicle.com/account/profile, and then click on the "Sign Up" tab and complete the form.

After creating a personal Chronicle.com account, you can sign up for the Chronicles newsletters which provide daily and/or weekly updates of academic news of particular interest to you and which arrive via email. If you have previously created a personal Chronicle.com account, and have used your personal U-M email address (ending in @umich.edu) to do so, your account should automatically give you unrestricted access to the entire Chronicle site.

SRA International
"The Society of Research Administrators International (SRA International) is the premier global research management society providing education, professional development and the latest comprehensive information about research management to 4,500 members from over 40 countries."
Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching (TCLT)
Located on the first floor of the library, TCLT "assists faculty in their efforts to deepen knowledge of their current teaching practice, explore new methods for promoting active learning and incorporate new technologies into teaching."