This is the "Online Resources
Articles & Books" page of the "French" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

French  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.umflint.edu/french Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Online Resources Articles & Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search French Dictionaries

Need to look up a word?


Business French Dictionary
Collins French Dictionary Plus
 

What is Peer Review?

Peer review is the process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals).  Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication. 

Online Resources

  • CAIRN General Collection
    French and Belgian journals available online, covering general interest, history, literature, and philosophy.
  • Corpus Montaigne [TRIAL ACCESS]
    Contains all of the works published in Montaigne’s lifetime and after his death by Marie de Gournay, all the editions published from the 16th to the 20th century, as well as their annotation and critical apparatus, and also the best editions of the complete works in Italian, English, German and Spanish. Available through Thursday, May 16, 2013. Send feedback to pgstreby@umflint.edu. More info
  • Grand Robert de la Langue Franaise
    Complete version of Le Grand Robert de la Langue Franaise in its latest edition: 86,000 articles, 100,000 words, 350,000 meanings, 410,000 use examples.
  • Klapp Online [TRIAL ACCESS]
    Klapp-Online is the Bibliography of French Literature that was compiled and edited by Astrid Klapp-Lehrmann. The online edition of years 1991-2011 is available in French, English, and German. It includes about 320,000 titles, 80,000 authors, 111,000 subject terms, and 17,900 classifications. Available until Thursday, May 23, 2013. Send feedback to pgstreby@umflint.edu.
  • Littérature de l'Afrique Noire
    18th - late 20th century Francophone literature from sub-Saharan Africa, both oral & written.
  • Littérature de l’Océan Indien
    18th century - late 20th century Francophone literature of the Indian Ocean.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    Journals & series indexed in the Modern Language Association Bibliography. Contact info, frequency of publication, descriptions of scope, circulation figures, subscription & advertising info, submission guidelines, and information on peer review status.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    1923-present. National literatures of 200+ nations; linguistics; semantics; stylistics; syntax; translation; literature, literary theory & criticism; dramatic arts; history of printing & publishing; rhetoric & composition; folk culture; belief systems.
  • Revues.org
    Open access French-language journals.

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Image
Paul Streby
Contact Info
810.762.3405
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip