Contains newspapers and pamphlets from England, Scotland, Ireland, India, the American Colonies, and Europe.
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of "news" and "newspapers" and the "free press," totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
1980-present. Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Millions of articles available. Updated daily.
Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newspapers, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, and posters.
Late twentieth century AP office archives from bureaus in Europe and the Middle East.
Content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Includes wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more from the European Bureaus Collection: 1952-2000 and Middle East Bureaus Collection: 1967-2005.
Provides information on nonprofit membership associations and professional societies worldwide.
Provides information on nonprofit membership associations and professional societies worldwide (20,000 international, 134,000 U.S. national, regional, state and local), plus IRS information on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets.
Helps locate biographical entries contained in 1000+ volumes & editions of important biographical reference sources. Contains citations for 15M+ biographies on nearly 5M people, living and deceased, from all periods, locations, & fields.
Contains more than 600,000 biographies on more than 528,000 people from around the world and throughout history.
Combines more than 135 frequently consulted Gale biographical sources with more than 325 full-text periodicals and journals, more than 27,000 portraits, and thousands of Recent News briefs on high-interest individuals. Updated continuously.
Reader's discovery tool. Explore fiction and nonfiction, read-alike books, award winners, and librarian's favorites lists.
From the publisher: "Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation."
Full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Online collection of British literary manuscripts from the Middle Ages to 1900.
Includes facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. This collection was created by digitizing microfilm collections. Includes two modules: Medieval & Renaissance, and 1660-1900, which may be searched together or separately.
Please note that users are unable to search the text of the manuscripts themselves. However, it is possible to search catalog records, descriptive text, and tags associated with each manuscript.
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Replaces Business & Company ASAP and General Business File ASAP.
Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals, case studies, country profiles, statistical data, market research reports, news articles, academic journals and reference materials organized by country, company and industry.
Includes the content of Ward's Business Directories, Market Share Reporter, International Directory of Company Histories, American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory, Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory, Encyclopedia of Global Industries, Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series, and other reference works.
Search this database using a company name, ticker symbol, industry code or description, geographic location or personal name.
Publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs.
The research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. High level analysis and research on almost 100 years of global events and issues. Includes 'behind the doors' insight into the real movers and shakers, influencers and deal brokers. For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.
Authoritative automotive repair information. Thousands of year, make & model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus specialty models. Information to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
1980-present. Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Full-text bio-bibliographical guide to over 149,000 current and recently prominent writers in all media.
Covers writers of fiction, poetry, drama, general non-fiction, print & broadcast journalism, cartoonists, editors, screenwriters, etc. Current cumulative edition. (Covers currently active and recently deceased writers.)
This online edition of The Daily Mail (1896-2004), a British tabloid newspaper, is fully searchable and browsable. As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, the Daily Mail Historical Archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the transatlantic liners that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.
Comprehensive business and residential information for users to assess business viability, create sales leads and/or marketing mailing lists, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors, and more. Search for people or businesses, and create demographic reports.
Facilitates the application of text mining and visualization tools on data sets created from the library's Gale Primary Sources. Google or Microsoft email account required for access.
The Digital Scholar Lab is a cloud-based research environment which allows users to apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) across all of the Gale Primary Source archives the library holds.
With Gale’s Digital Scholar Lab, users can:
• Search and create robust content/data sets from across the library’s Gale Primary Sources
• Employ analysis and visualization tools on large data sets
• Download and share visualizations and statistical data
The Digital Scholar Lab gives users the ability to create custom content sets containing as many as 10,000 documents. Users can search across the library’s Gale Primary Sources holdings and seamlessly select documents to be added to their custom content set.
Users can analyze and interrogate the data with the text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Six commonly used text mining methodologies are included: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Sentiment Analysis, Parts of Speech, Ngrams, and Clustering.
Users’ content sets remained saved in the Digital Scholar Lab, thereby facilitating long-term projects. Users are free to share their analysis outputs and can publish their outputs with confidence, retaining all intellectual property rights.
Please note that users are required to create a personal account using either a Google or Microsoft email account.
Complete archive of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to four years ago, with full-color images, multiple search indexes, and exportable financial tables.
One of the most widely read magazines in the world, offering timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. (For text-only access to issues of The Economist from the most recent four years, use Academic OneFile, Access World News, or ProQuest Research Library.)
Almost 200 journals providing robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Combined access to annual directories covering businesses, publishers, media, research centers, scholarships, and other topics.
Includes these directories published annually:
• Business Rankings Annual
• Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
• Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
• Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
• Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations
• Gale Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media
• Publishers Directory
• Research Centers Directory
• Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans
• Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
Includes full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews.
Combines Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable research and study environment. Covers authors and their works, literary movements and genres, book reviews, and more from these Gale reference series:
• Contemporary Authors
• Literature Criticism Online
• Literature Resource Center
Simultaneous searching of numerous Gale databases.
Includes many cross-searchable databases covering most academic subjects and current events.
Includes: • Academic OneFile; • Business and Company ASAP; • Business Economics and Theory; • Communications and Mass Media Collection; • Computer Database; • Criminal Justice Collection; • Agriculture Collection; • Culinary Arts Collection; • Diversity Studies Collection; • Environmental Studies and Policy Collection; • Expanded Academic ASAP; Fine Arts and Music Collection; • Gale Virtual Reference Library; • Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection; • Gender Studies Collection; • General Business File ASAP; • General OneFile; • General Reference Center Gold; • General Science Collection; • Health Reference Center Academic; • Home Improvement Collection; • Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection; • Information Science and Library Issues Collection; • Informe Académico; • InfoTrac Newsstand; • Insurance and Liability Collection; • Junior Edition; • LegalTrac; • Military and Intelligence Database; • New York Times; • Nursing and Allied Health Collection; • Opposing Viewpoints In Context; • Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection; • Pop Culture Collection; • Popular Magazines; • Psychology Collection; • Religion and Philosophy Collection; • Small Business Collection; • Student Edition; • U.S. History Collection; • Vocations and Careers Collection; • War and Terrorism Collection; • World History Collection.
Combines primary source databases with British, American, and some international content. Allows analysis of content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Includes these collections:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of the Modern World
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive
• The Telegraph Historical Archive
• The Times Digital Archive
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
• U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
200+ journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments - including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
Medical, health, and wellness information from authoritative medical sources.
Provides access to medical, health, and wellness information from authoritative medical sources including reference works, full-text magazines, journals and pamphlets, with descriptive links to selected web sites. Covers 1997-present.
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s.
It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. Included as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Volume 1: The Emergence of Cinema: The American Screen to 1907
Volume 2: The Transformation of Cinema, 1907-1915
Volume 3: An Evening's Entertainment: the Age of the Silent Feature Picture, 1915–1928
Volume 4: The Talkies : American Cinema's Transition to Sound, 1926-1931
Volume 5: Grand Design: Hollywood as a Modern Business Enterprise, 1930-1939
Volume 6: Boom and Bust: The American Cinema in the 1940s
Volume 7: Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959
Volume 8: The Sixties
Volume 9: Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979
Volume 10: A New Pot of Gold : Hollywood under the Electronic Rainbow, 1980-1989
Archive of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, periodicals and photographs on native North Americans.
Extensive historical collection of materials on the indigenous peoples of North America. Includes monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals and photographs. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.
Nearly 100 leading industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional. Coverage includes such topics as data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.
Complete archive of American newspaper published in Paris.
Features the complete archive of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times. It covers accounts of travel, entertainment, and international conflicts.
1980-present. 1400+ titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals & international legal journals. Contains law-related articles from 1000+ additional business & general interest titles.
Provides searchable, online access to volumes from ten different series reproducing excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds and periods of literature.
• Children's Literature Review
• Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
• Contemporary Literary Criticism
• Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
• Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
• Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism
• Short Story Criticism
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
400+ journals, covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Provides cross-searching of 17 different British and American historical newspaper and periodical archive collections.
Provides cross-searching of 17 different historical newspaper and periodical archive collections, covering 1600-2010:
• 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
• 19th Century British Library Newspapers (pts.1 & 2)
• 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
• 19th Century UK Periodicals (Empire and New Readerships)
• British Newspapers, 1780-1950
• Daily Mail Historical Archive
• The Economist Historical Archive
• Financial Times Historical Archive
• Illustrated London News Historical Archive
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive
• The Listener Historical Archive
• The Picture Post Historical Archive
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive
• Times Digital Archive
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from around the world, including from national libraries, academic and public libraries, and a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories.
Currently contains four collections:
• Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
• British Politics and Society
• British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
• European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Covers contemporary social issues with pro/con information.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline. Short URL: http://go.umflint.edu/ovic
Over 1,000 of the most searched magazines across Gale/InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
Custom selection of full-text journals for educators interested in professional development.
Updated daily. Covers:
• Teaching arts and humanities
• Child and adolescent psychology and development
• Substance abuse
• Health and physical fitness
• Learning disabilities
• Teaching literature
• Education law
• Science and technology in the classroom
• Teaching the social sciences
• Sports/Athletic Training
Archive of Smithsonian Magazine (1970-2010) and Air & Space Magazine (1986-2010).
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum and research complex--home to 19 museums, 9 research centers and over 137 million collection objects for the study of art, history, culture, and science. The Smithsonian's collections and fields of study focus on the American Experience, World Cultures, a Biodiverse Planet, and Exploring the Mysteries of the Universe.
Combining the full archive of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine, this resource brings these study themes into the pathway of students and faculty worldwide. It presents a unique and comprehensive insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture. Available in a fully searchable digital archive, these publications bring depth and expert coverage of high-demand topics in support of the Smithsonian Institution's mission of increase and diffusion of knowledge.
Searchable archive of 16th-, 17th- and 18th-century British State Papers, Domestic and Foreign.
Includes these collections:
• Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
• Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
• Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
• Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
• Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
• Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785-2012.
Searchable access to more than 200 years of backfile issues of The Times newspaper of London, England, from its origin in 1785 through 2006, including full page facsimile images digitized from microfilm. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2013.
Full digital version of the Times Literary Supplement, 1902-2013. Offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages – as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
Primary source material from archives in the United States & Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, & more. Covers 1492 - late 20th century.