Sample Course Guide
Bibliographies and AbstractsFull Text CollectionsWorld - Ancient to RenaissanceWorld - ModernWomen's HistoryHistory - Latin AmericaHistory - MultimediaHistory - AfricaHistory - Asia
Bibliographies and AbstractsFull Text Collections - Primary SourcesFull Text Collections - Secondary SourcesFull Text Collections - MultimediaUnited States - African-AmericansUnited States - Indians of North AmericaUnited States - MichiganUnited States - Southern StatesUnited States - WomenUnited States - Michigan - Flint
Bibliographies and abstractsFull Text CollectionsSecondary Sources
This is the "Overview" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Resources for researching historical topics at the Frances Willson Thompson Library
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umflint.edu/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Library Information

Frances Willson Thompson Library

303 E. Kearsley St. 

Flint, MI 48502

Reference:

Call 810.762-3408

Text Message 810.407.5434

Circulation 810.762.3400

Hours of operation (Spring/Summer):

Monday-Thursday 8am-10pm

Friday 8am-6pm

Saturday 12pm-6pm

Sunday 12pm-8pm

 

Course Guides

Use the "Course Guides" drop down menu to find information for classes in this subject area.

 

Researching History

Welcome!  Here is a users' guide for this LibGuide.

All the electronic databases to which we subscribe that relate to history are linked here.  What you need depends on what you are researching.

First, identify your geographical range, since the databases fit into three: "General" (which includes general history and non-American, non-British history); "United States"; and "Great Britain."

Next, identify how your subject might fit in with the next level of categories.  If you are looking to see what articles have been written on a particular topic (historiography), for example, look under "Bibliographies and Abstracts."   

If you want to research something in digitized newspapers, look under "Primary Sources."  We have a growing number of such databases.  These cover newspapers of different periods, as well as magazines, and government publications.

If your topic comes close to one of the subject subdivisions, such as women, African-Americans, or Indians of North America, look for the specialized databases under those headings. 

The heading "Secondary Sources" includes a variety of reference sources, such as biographical dictionaries.

Finally, check the library catalog (Mirlyn) for our book holdings.  For history, books are never out of date.  Remember, copyright laws prevent most books published since 1923 from appearing online.

 

 

Welcome!

This guide is designed to assist you with historical research.  It will direct you to a variety of resources in Thompson Library. It contains:

  • Links to full-text databases organized by subject or geographical region
  • Links to bibliographical and abstracts databases organized by subject or geographical region
  • Links to multi-media databases
  • Guide to research in Flint history

Remember that if you get stuck and need help, the librarians are here to help you. 

You can contact us with your questions:

Good luck!

Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Paul Gifford
Contact Info
Telephone: 810-762-3402
Genesee Historical Collections Center
Room 226, Frances Willson Thompson Library
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Archives
 

Chat with a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip