- Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides research, data and other information related to adoption, child abuse and family-centered practice.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources 1600-1970
Historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Searchable, full-text database of 22,000 English language legal treatises from the U.S. and U.K.
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926
Approximately 1.5 million pages of historical United States legal material including constitutional convention documents, colonial records, city charters, and early state codes and digests.
- Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
"Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world..."
- Engineering Case Studies Online
In-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures, with video and text documents.
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Digital collection of manuscripts by William Wordsworth and his contemporaries.
- Psychological Experiments Online
Audio and video recordings of quintessential experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents. Includes notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports on topics from obedience to authority and from conformity to operant conditioning.
- Oxford History of Western Music
History of the development of Western music, originally published in five volumes by Richard Taruskin.
- Anthropology Review Database (ARD)
Reviews of books, articles, video and audio resources, software, and websites in anthropology.
- Making of Modern Michigan
Collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.
- Alexander III and the Policy of Russification, 1883-1886
Correspondence from the British diplomatic corps in Russia on the "retro-reform" policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe.
- American Book Prices Current
1975-present. Annual record of books, manuscripts, autographs, maps and broadsides sold at auction. Regions covered include North America and the UK, with sales from such other countries as Switzerland, Germany, Monaco, Holland, Australia, and France.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
Manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Rare and original documents from treaties, speeches, and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
- American West
Sources from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago. Includes a wide range of primary source materials on Native Americans, pioneers and explorers, homesteaders and cattle ranchers, on all aspects of the history of the western United States and Canada.
- Artemis: Primary Sources
Combines Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, and Making of the Modern World. Allows analysis of content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
- Books 24x7 Referenceware for Professionals
Business, technical, and engineering e-books: IT Pro (11,000 books), Engineering Pro (3,000 books) and IT & Desktop videos (4,000 videos).
- Books and Authors
Reader's discovery tool. Explore fiction and nonfiction, read-alike books, award winners, and librarian's favorites lists.
- Business Insights: Global
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals, case studies, country profiles, statistical data, market research reports, news articles, academic journals and reference materials organized by country, company and industry. Search this database using a company name, ticker symbol, industry code or description, geographic location or personal name.
- California Digital Newspaper Collection
A freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.
- Chatham House Online Archive
The research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. High level analysis and research on almost 100 years of global events and issues. Includes 'behind the doors' insight into the real movers and shakers, influencers and deal brokers. For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
Contains manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People?s Republic; key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service; letters relating to the first Opium War; survivors descriptions of the Boxer War; diaries and personal photographs; missionary periodicals; color paintings, maps, and drawings, photographs, sketches and ephemeral items, depicting Chinese people, places, customs, and events.
- Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949)
Alt. title: 民国时期中文期刊全文资料库. This fully-searchable database covers approximately 10,000,000 articles in over 25,000 titles of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949 in China. Language: Chinese. Limited to one user at a time. Please log out when done (安全退出).
- Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
Contains the most important papers generated by Britain?s Foreign and Colonial Offices concerning Canada, the Caribbean, and the United States.
- Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
Images of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
- DARE: Dictionary of American Regional English
- DemographicsNow Library Edition
Comprehensive business and residential information for users to assess business viability, create sales leads and/or marketing mailing lists, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors, and more. Search for people or businesses, and create demographic reports.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
Over 9,000 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
Automatic bibliography and citation generator.
- Electrochemical Society Digital Library
Journals in electrochemical and solid-state science and technology.
- Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
Documents from the Presbyterian Church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work in Greater Syria and Lebanon. Mainly incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.
- Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1900
Thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
- Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Library of reports covering IT infrastructure, wireless technology, security, data networking, technology vendors, and more. Useful for tracking technology trends, strategic planning, competitive analysis, market awareness, and product/vendor evaluation.
- First World War
Primary source material for the study of the First World War, from personal narratives and printed books to military files, propaganda pamphlets, and strong visual documents. The material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary material, including scholarly essays, case studies, and interactive maps. Contains two modules: Personal Experiences and Propaganda and Recruitment.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Contains primary source materials, including British diplomatic dispatches; government and private correspondence; newspaper cuttings/transcriptions and translations of press reports; meeting minutes; political, economic, and military analyses; statistical tables; biographies of prominent figures; reports of visits, investigations, etc.; published booklets, leaflets, posters, and propaganda; annual reports detailing events in a territory during the previous year; maps.
- Gender Studies Collection
Covers gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family & marital issues, conversion therapy, gay & lesbian rights, health aspects, and other issues. Short URL: http://go.umflint.edu/gsc
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange
Manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged, and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption, and social practices.
- GOLD: Grey House Online Databases
Directories of public resources in health care and social services.
French language articles, e-books, videos, and audio recordings.
Statistical data from India at national, sector, regional, and state levels. Once you are at the site's homepage, click the "IP Login" button to view data.
Limited to one user at a time. PLEASE LOG OUT WHEN DONE.
- International Atomic Energy Agency Publications
Open-access books and journals.
- International Bibliography of Art
Scholarly literature on Western art.
- International Historical Statistics
Contains downloadable data drawn from and updating the 3 volume print reference work International Historical Statistics 1750-2005. IHS covers a wide range of topics including: the economy, trade, population, labor, education, migration and transportation with data spanning 260 years (1750-2010). The data is organized by regions which are presented as: The Americas, Europe, and Asia + Oceania. Tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel documents.
- Israel's Messenger Online
This English language Zionist periodical (1904-1941) is an important source of knowledge about the Shanghai Jewish community in the years predating the establishment of the Jewish state and the role Jews of the time played in politics, science and international trade.
- Legal Forms Library
Provides official federal, Michigan, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. Forms can be downloaded. Includes an attorney directory and a dictionary of legal terms.
- LLMC Digital Law Library
Digital versions of the LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) collections. A work in progress, the site currently contains material on U.S. federal law: administrative, legislative and judicial resources. It will grow to include U.S and foreign law material, both primary and secondary.
- MD Consult Books
- Media History Digital Library
Digitized collections of classic media periodicals in the public domain. Covers 1903-1995.
- Meet the Press
Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum that were televised 1947 through 2012. Upon completion, Meet the Press will include over 1500 hours of footage. All programs can be watched in streaming format. The Meet the Press database is fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others at UM-Flint.
- Michigan Experts
Michigan Experts is a searchable database of research expertise across disciplines at the University of Michigan. It has been developed to foster intramural and extramural collaborations, and interdisciplinary research. It contains publication citations (pulled from Scopus and Inspec), grants, and patents data. Faculty from the following UM-Ann Arbor schools, colleges, and institutes are included: School of Dentistry, College of Engineering, Life Sciences Institute, Medical School School of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, and the School of Public Health.
- Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 1: Pioneer Orientalists
Collection of 303 digital Arabic manuscript volumes from Leiden University Library.
- Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 2: The Ottoman Legacy of Levinus Warner
140 volumes from the Warner Collection, totaling 45K+ pages of Ottoman Turkish, Arabic, and Persian texts. All these manuscripts were acquired by the great scholar Levinus Warner during his stay in Istanbul from 1644 until his death in 1665.
- Narcotic Addiction and Mental Health: The Clinical Papers of Lawrence Kolb, Sr.
1912-1972. Correspondence, reports, documents clippings, reprints, and photos from an early advocate of treating drug addiction as a disease.
- National Geographic Virtual Library
1888-present. Complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
- Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Comprises official British analyses of US policy decisions, White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon?s battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by both Wilson and Heath; files on the internal situation in the US and domestic reform; detailed assessments of changes brought about by the Presidential Election of 1972.
- North American Theatre Online
Comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year more than 20,000 new records will be added. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
- Parker Library on the Web
An interactive, web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. Includes the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890), the Old English Bede, King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care, key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts ranging from the Ancrene Wisse and the Brut Chronicle, and Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde. Other subjects represented in the collection are music, medieval travelogues and maps, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles, Bibles, and illuminated manuscripts.
- Pew Global Attitudes Project
Original research that explores the growth of the internet and its impact on children, families, communities, the workplace, schools, health care and civic/political life. Major reports have examined teens and technology, health online and libraries in a digital age.
- Pew Hispanic Center Site Search
Chronicles the diverse and changing lives of the U.S. Latino population and their impact on the nation. It examines Latino public opinion, migration patterns and education and economic trends.
- Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
Covers 1966-1984. This collection documents many decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin's work for and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women's rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with various organizations and agencies.
- PolicyMap (free version)
US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform. PolicyMap is web-based and geared toward users who may not be GIS experts but want to be able to analyze large amounts of data quickly and produce maps, tables, charts and reports with a minimal learning curve for the application itself. The Thompson Library does not have a subscription to the premium version of PolicyMap at this time.
- Project Tycho
Data on infectious diseases in the United States from 1888 on. Open access, but requires free registration.
- ProQuest computer science databases
- Republic of New Afrika: Independence, Reparations, and Citizenship
Collection of over 14,000 pages of documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation on the black nationalist group, the Republic of New Afrika (RNA). The Republic of New Afrika's provisional government was formed at a 1968 conference of black nationalists in Detroit. The RNA was a social movement organization that proposed the formation of an independent black-majority country within the United States, among other demands.
- Royal Society of Chemistry: RSC Books
Full-text access to scholarly books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1968 to present.
- SAGE Research Methods Online
Books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, Little Green Books (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (QASS) series), Little Blue Books (Qualitative Research Methods series), and videos on social research. Includes a Methods Map, "a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories and techniques used in social research." [More info]
- Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993
Correspondence, memoranda, studies, analyses, testimony, talking points and news clippings from the White House, and various staff offices and agencies.
- SPEC Kits
Information gathered from ARL member institutions on current research library practices and policies. Combines the survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to help libraries learn about current practice in research libraries, implement new practices and technologies, manage change, and improve performance.
Comprises 400 Landolt-Bornstein volumes, 44,000 chemical safety documents, a subset of the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology comprising 300,000 data points, and the Linus Pauling files on inorganic solid phases. SpringerMaterials is expanded and updated quarterly.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books of instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave. Short URL: http://go.umflint.edu/adli
- Very Short Introductions
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Virginia Company Archives
Records relating to the Virginia Company, 1606-1624.
- Vocations & Careers Collection
Content from nearly 400 journals; this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. Short link: http://go.umflint.edu/vcc
World wide repository of small molecule crystal structures hosted by Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center (CCDC).
- Women's Wear Daily Archive
A comprehensive archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
- Woodhead Publishing Materials and Engineering Collection
- World Bank e-Library
Online, fully cross-searchable and browsable collection of World Bank publications & Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book & paper as they are published. Browsable by region.
- World News Connection
1990s-present (varies by title). CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. Searchable by keyword, region of the world, and date. Provides the full-text in English.
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966
Streaming video capturing full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Includes the "March of Time" series. Short URL: http://go.umflint.edu/wnrv