Provides full text, searchable access to important American magazines and newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Provides full text, searchable access to:
• African-American Newspapers, Parts I-XII
⚬ The Christian Recorder (1861–1902)
⚬ The Colored American (1837–1841)
⚬ Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863)
⚬ Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829)
⚬ The National Era (1847–1860)
⚬ The North Star (1847–1851)
⚬ Provincial Freeman (1854–1857)
⚬ Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
• Civil War, Parts I-IV
• Godey's Lady's Book, 1830-1898
• The Liberator, Parts I & II, 1831-1840
• The Lily, 1849-1856
• The Pennsylvania Gazette, Parts I-IV, 1728-1800
• Virginia Gazette
Database of mainly English-language historical newspapers starting from 1607 and going to the present.
The database consists of digital images of original newspaper pages scanned from microfilm, which have been processed with Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technology to permit searching by keyword. The quality of the scanned images, and hence the accuracy of the keyword searching, varies widely. The largest number of holdings is 1880-2010 and is mainly from the United States, Canada, England, and Ireland, although there are some newspapers from other countries in other languages. More information from NewspaperArchive.com.
Please note: The holdings will list broad ranges of dates but NewspaperArchive.com does not necessarily contain all the issues in that time period. For instance, it lists the holding for Chicago’s News Journal as 1923-1977, yet has no issues from 1929 to 1968. Use the Browse tab to find more precise holdings information for specific titles.
To limit results to a particular state in America, you must first choose the United States as a country, and then the state you would like to search.
Includes: America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922; America's Historical Imprints; Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; African American Periodicals, 1825-1995; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Includes leading black newspapers of the United States.
Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore African-American (1893-1988); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Custom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 20 U.S. and 4 international English-language newspapers. Click "More" for individual titles.
• Arizona Republican (1890-1922)
• Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) *
• Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) *
• Baltimore Sun (1837-1922)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975) *
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1994)
• Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004)
• Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991) *
• Dayton Daily News (1831-1999)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian (1821-2003) & The Observer (1791-2003)
• Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) *
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1994)
• Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922)
• Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) *
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) *
• South China Morning Post (1903-1998)
• Wall Street Journal (1889-2000)
• Washington Post (1877-2001)
All the newspapers can be searched individually or in combinations in this database. They are listed separately in the A-Z list as "Historical Newspapers: Title." Newspapers noted with * are also searchable in the database Black Historical Newspapers.
Contains newspapers and pamphlets from England, Scotland, Ireland, India, the American Colonies, and Europe.
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of "news" and "newspapers" and the "free press," totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable.
Full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2012.
Searchable access to more than 200 years of backfile issues of The Times newspaper of London, England, from its origin in 1785 through 2006, including full page facsimile images digitized from microfilm. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.