Extensive Reading Collection

Yellow Level Books

Yellow Level books are for intermediate English readers.

Students in Reading and Writing 3 and Reading and Writing 4 classes should look at these books first.

They have a YELLOW dot on them, so you can find them easily

Books also have a letter on the sticker to tell which are easier than others.

Books with E on them are very easy. Books with D on them are easy. Books with C on them are less easy.

Remember to use the Five-Finger Rule to help choose a book.

Search for Level 2 Books

Type "ELP2" into the empty search box below, then click the FIND button. A new webpage will appear with all the Level 2 books in the ELP Collection.

You can also search by author, title, or subject, but you will get results that are not in the ELP collection.

Newspaper, Magazine, and Journal Articles

Journals and Magazines

Academic Journals take up most of the bookshelves on the third floor. They are shelved alphabetically by title and then by date, but the library has access to almost 64,000 journals online. Here are a few titles you might be interested in.

Newspapers

Paper copies of the following newspapers can be found on the third floor of the library.

  • The Flint Journal
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • The Detroit Free Press
  • The Detroit News
  • The New York Times
  • The Michigan Times 

Other Books and ebooks from the Library

ELP students can check out other books in the library, but most of them are at college or advanced reading levels. Some areas of the collection that might interest you are listed below.

Comic Books, Graphic Novels, and Manga in the Main Collection

There is a small collection of adult graphic novels in the library's main collection. They are located on the first floor of the library between the call numbers PN 6700 - PN 6790.

The Children's Nonfiction Collection

Although these books are published for children, many are still interesting stories and are easier to read than the books in the main collection. These books are located on the third floor of the library. Here is how the collection is organized.

9.0 Biography (Nonfiction)

9.3 Science and Nature (Nonfiction)

9.5 History and Travel (Nonfiction)

9.7 Other Nonfiction


Online Reading Material

The links below lead to an online magazine and collections of ebooks for children.

Chat with a Librarian

Your Librarian

Liz Svoboda

Email: esvoboda@umich.edu

Phone: 810.762.3007

Office: Library 331