Extensive Reading Collection

Other Books in the Library

ELP students can check out other books in the library, but most of them are at college or advanced reading levels. Some areas of the collection that might interest you are listed below.

Comic Books, Graphic Novels, and Manga in the Main Collection

There is a small collection of adult graphic novels in the library's main collection. They are located on the first floor of the library between the call numbers PN 6700 - PN 6790.

Books of Short Stories

Books of short stories can be found on the first floor of the library in the P section. Some specifc areas are listed below:

  • PN 6014 (O. Henry Prize for Short Stories)
  • PN 6120.15 - PN 6120.95 (General short story collections)
  • PS 501 - PS 579 (Regional American short stories)
  • PS 642 - PS 659.9 (Genre short stories)

The Children's Literature Collection

Although these books are published for children, many are still interesting stories and are easier to read than the books in the main collection. These books are located on the third floor of the library. Here is how the collection is organized.

5.5 Collections of short stories

7.0 Children's Fiction

7.2 Stories about Animals

7.4 Picture Books and Graphic Novels for Children

7.6 Caldecott Award Books (Best Children's Picture Books)

7.7 Newbery Award Books (Best Children's Books)

8.0 Fables, Fairy Tales, and Folklore

8.4 Bible Stories

8.6 Nursery Rhymes

8.7 Music for Children

8.8 Plays for Children

9.0 Biography (Nonfiction)

9.3 Science and Nature (Nonfiction)

9.5 History and Travel (Nonfiction)

9.7 Other Nonfiction

eBooks

Chat with a Librarian

Your Librarian

Liz Svoboda

Email: esvoboda@umich.edu

Phone: 810.762.3007

Office: Library 331