Population, housing and economic census data from ongoing surveys including American Community Survey.
American FactFinder is an online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Data available include: Decennial Census of Housing and Population - 2000 and 2010 Results from each of these data programs are provided in the form of data sets, tables, thematic maps, and reference maps.
Grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents; helps find and access relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Dimensions Plus brings together various research-related data sources in a venue that is consistent and accessible to the community. Data include grant information and also information on several publication types, including Books, Journal Articles, Conference Proceedings, and Patents. Dimensions Plus provides the community with a data discovery engine that offers both context and perspective.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Also include full text ebooks and open access content.
3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
1986-2000. Covers population topics, including fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality & family, research methodology, projections & predictions, historical demography, demographic & economic interrelations. Not updated.
1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. Most subjects covered.
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. Provides full text for articles from over 3,600 of these journals and magazines. Includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas extensively.
Tool used for creating and distribution online surveys, data storage, and analysis. Requires UM-Flint email account.
The University of Michigan has purchased a system wide site license for this service. Therefore, subject to conditions outlined by the vendor and the University of Michigan, there is no limit on the number of surveys that can be created using Qualtrics.
To create a Qualtrics account, visit: https://umflint.qualtrics.com. Click on the "Please click here to create an account" link at the bottom left of the screen. You MUST use your FULL UM-Flint email address (i.e. email@example.com) as your username. You can select whatever password you like (it does NOT have to be your LAN password). You will be emailed a link to verify your account. NOTE: You are only allowed to create one account in Qualtrics, so it is important that you remember the password you use. If you forget your password, click the "Forgot your password?" link and provide your email address. Qualtrics will email you a link to reset it. More info
Access to 400 journals published by SAGE Publications in the areas of communication studies, criminology, education, health sciences, management & organization studies, materials science, political science, psychology, sociology and urban studies & planning.
Demographic information about the United States, 1790 to present. Create maps and reports based on decennial censuses of 1940 to 2010 and the American Community Survey.
Includes over 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables. Includes demographic and economic data, religion, election, and carbon emissions data. To save and share projects, please create a personal account.
Online full-text access to many (but not all) of the Springer electronic journals; along with many electronic books and series.
Provides online full-text access to many of the Springer electronic journals along with many electronic books and series.
Personal copies of some books can be purchased for $24.95 each through a service offered by Springer called MyCopy. The MyCopy offer is currently valid for over 20,000 Springer eBooks. Books are new soft cover editions with a color cover and black and white book content. To be eligible for the MyCopy service, books must be:
• Fewer than 1,200 pages
• Single titles (not part of a multi-volume set)
• Published 2005 or later
• English language
Access to almost 300 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.
Provides access to over 290 text, image, bibliographic, and finding aid collections created and maintained by Digital Library Platform & Services (DLPS) of the University of Michigan University Library (U-M Library), comprising over a million digital objects. Includes all collections in the University of Michigan's Humanities Text Initiative, as well as collections sponsored by the Publishing division of the University Library.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Permits searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 12,000+ journals. • Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder. • Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping. • Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report. • Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns.
Includes: • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) • Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present) • Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present) • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present) • Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present) • Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
1949-present. Provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. Contains overviews by experts and descriptive materials on several sites for each major tradition covered.
Ethnographic documentaries and interviews of anthropologists.
The collection covers every region of the world and provides long-term perspectives on the study of regions and cultures, as well as the historical development of documentary film itself. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
Digital archives of two organizations, which can be searched individually or simultaneously, including administrative records, correspondence, data, gray literature, manuscripts, pamphlets, photographs, proceedings, reports, and more.
• New York Academy of Sciences: Since 1817, the Academy has brought together extraordinary people working at the frontiers of discovery. Among the oldest scientific organizations in the United States, it has become not only an enduring cultural institution in New York, but also one of the most significant organizations in the global scientific community. Throughout its history, the Academy's Membership has featured thinkers and innovators from all walks of life, including U.S. Presidents Jefferson and Monroe, Thomas Edison, Charles Darwin, Margaret Mead, and many more.
• The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland: The RAI is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense. The Institute is a non-profit and is entirely independent, with a Director and a small staff accountable to the Council, which in turn is elected annually from the Fellowship
Covers ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies. Covers 1975-present.
Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, 1952-present.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records from key journals in sociology, added to the database since 2002, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.
Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. These references are linked both within Sociological Abstracts and across other social science databases available on ProQuest.
Updated monthly, with approximately 30,000 records added per year. (Description from the publisher's website.)