Welcome to the library's course guide for UNV 100: So You Want to Change the World, A Look at the Opioid Crisis.
The resources on this page will help you with your projects and assignments. Please reach out to a librarian if you have questions about using a resource or are having difficulty finding what you need.
This database organizes sources around current and controversial issues like the opioid crisis. You will find articles from academic journals, news outlets, and magazines, along with audio and video sources. The other type of source to pay attention to are the "Viewpoints;" these essays are typically opinion articles and write from one side of an argument or the other.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
This database is a collection of full and short reports on current and controversial issues, including the opioid crisis. The full reports contain several sections including, overview, background, outlook, chronology, and pro/con, to give you a more complete understanding of the issue. Short reports are brief updates on a topic. The footnotes are a great place to find related articles and read more in depth coverage.
1923-present. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, and contains an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro & con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full digitized page images.
Searchable access to the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), from the first issue on September 18, 1851 to three months ago. Reproduces the complete full text of every issue in its original printed form, in full page images digitized from microfilm. Also incorporates indexing and subject headings from the New York Times Index, 1851-1993.
A free personal account is available for all U-M Flint affiliates. You must create a personal account the first time you log in, using your UMICH credentials, which you can then use for login via desktop or on mobile apps. This subscription is provided to the entire U-M Flint campus courtesy of the School of Management.