Provides extensive information about Africa's cultures, history, geography, economics, and politics; it provides an invaluable overview of the whole continent, region by region, ethnic group by ethnic group, nation by nation. Covers more than 1000 peoples in total and describes 200 major ethnic groups in great detail.
Compiled by Columbia University Libraries, this list of online newspapers (available without subscription) is organized by country. Not all publications are in English.
This book provides an introduction to Africa -- covering its physical attributes, history, social structure, and culture.It emphasizes norms, values, and historical experience as the key variables that define who the people are, rather than labeling them as "tribes." Describes the main traditional cultural forms and institutions found in Africa. Explores the geography and demography of the African continent. Takes a critical look at how the Africans have done since they inherited or recovered political power from the European colonial masters -- the problems they have encountered, the forces that have influenced leaders in their choice of strategies in nation-building or economic development, political and economic reforms.
Nearly one million pages of ethnographic collections on the world's cultures, past and present, indexed by culture and subject. If you are looking for ideas the "Browse SUBJECTS" is a good place to look.
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples. Each entry offers information about foodstuffs, meals, cooking methods, recipes, eating out, holidays and celebrations, and health and diet.
This book presents a comprehensive overview of global courtship and marriage customs, from ancient history to contemporary society, demonstrating the vast differences as well as the similarities across all of human culture.
From the main page, you can choose to Browse by Geography and then find fine art, sculpture, fashion, and other cultural artifacts from a chosen country.
Provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, including an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Collections are used for teaching and study in a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more. All UM affiliates may search and view images; registration required to download images and use the software tools.
Note: To access the images via the mobile interface, you need to create an account through ARTstor. Access ARTstor via the library's website and click on the "Register" link at top right. Create an account; use that email / password to login to ARTstor mobile.
"A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions." Streaming audio of more than 40,000 tracks. Browse by Place to find traditional music from a specific country.
Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It contains over 40,000 tracks of ethnic music from around the world.
Streaming music from around the world. Browsing by Place will let you see many artists and genres from a specific country, but you can also search the database for a particular album or artist.
Includes reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Distant View of a Minaret and Other Stories by 
10 Years of the Caine Prize for African Writing by 
Encyclopedia of African Peoples by 
The African Experience by 
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by 
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by 
Marriage Customs of the World by