Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
1966-present. 1.1M+ citations, 1,000+ periodicals (ERIC Journals); government publications, & unpublished materials such as conference papers, reports, theses, etc. (ERIC Documents available on microfiche in the Thompson Library & sometimes online).
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes full text ebooks and open access content. Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible. Click "more..." for additional information.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Covers contemporary social issues with pro/con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Keyword(s): United States
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Why choose this? ScienceDirect has thousands of online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine.
Target audience: Researchers in the sciences, technology, business, and social sciences.
What it covers: 2,000+ journals, 35,000+ books, mostly 1996 present.
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Images from Artifex Press' digital catalogue raisonné project.
Artists currently include Chuck Close (paintings 1967-present), Jim Dine (sculpture, 1983-present), Tim Hawkinson, Sol LeWitt, Agnes Martin, Lucas Samaras and James Siena. More digital catalogues raisonnés will be forthcoming.
Evidence-based resource for the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology and microbiology. Promotional video Trial access is available through May 15, 2023. Send feedback to email@example.com.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network) provides a current, evidence-based resource for diagnosis, treatment, and teaching in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, and microbiology.
Coverage Includes: 350 infectious diseases from around the world. Contains epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD. Includes over 400 eBooks available in PDF that together summarize the status of individual infectious diseases in every country of the world. GIDEON is designed to help diagnose diseases, identify pathogens, and stay up to date on the latest trends in epidemiology and treatment.
Use GIDEON to diagnose, treat and track information on infectious diseases from around the globe.
Generate a country-specific diagnosis based on symptoms, signs, and laboratory data.
Display the epidemiological profile of a selected disease and list diseases that fit a set of epidemiological parameters.
Review country-specific notes and pre-travel information for travelers and medical practitioners
Review the pharmacology and compare usage of anti-infective drugs
Review the pharmacology and usage of vaccines
Identify and Track the Underlying Causes of Infectious Diseases
Identify over 1,600 taxa based on phenotypic characteristics
View a list of the typical positive and negative reactions for a specified organism
Compare the reactions of two or more species
Access comprehensive bacteria, mycobacteria, and yeasts lists as well as over 3,000 synonyms
Database of sponsors and funding opportunities, listing grant opportunities gathered from over 9,000 U.S. sponsors. Trial access is available through July 31, 2022. Send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
GrantForward uses specialized data-crawling technology to constantly update its extensive database of sponsors and funding opportunities, allowing thousands of grant opportunities to be gathered from over 9,000 US Sponsors. Every grant opportunity is thoroughly analyzed and then verified by a team of specialists to ensure accuracy.
Backfiles of consumer magazines devoted to health, fitness, exercise, nutrition, and medicine, charting trends in these areas from the mid-20th century to the 21st.
The backfiles of consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.
When complete, will include the following publications:
Evidence-based information on drugs, their interactions, IV compatibility, toxicity, and other key data.
Academic use only.
Includes these modules:
Drug Interactions: Cross-check hundreds of drugs for interactions, issues for pregnancy or lactation, tobacco, alcohol, and other factors
IV Compatibility: Hundreds of drugs can be checked for compatibility with various solutions
Drug ID: Look up drugs by Imprint Code or physical description
Drug Comparison: View brand name and generic drugs side-by-side
NeoFax Pediatrics: Neonatal and pediatric drug monographs
Tox & Drug Product Lookup: Products & substances; Martindale Global Drug; company contacts
REDBOOK: Search for prescription or OTC medications, nutraceuticals, bulk chemicals, medical devices, or supplies by product name or manufacturer, or for a specific active ingredient in the product, or by a specific code (such as NDC, UPC, or HRI)