Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Covers contemporary social issues with pro & con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine, as well as business and the social sciences
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Judicial profiles of every federal judge and all the key bankruptcy judges and magistrate judges. When using material from this database in reports and presentations, the license requires that you include the phrase, "Used with permission of CCH Intelliconnect."
Digitized newspapers by and for prisoners in the United States.
On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes. Data can be viewed using a interactive MapViewer, and analyzed with our tools. Datasets can be downloaded. In addition, pages on news, information on the Arabidopsis Genome Initiative (AGI), Arabidopsis lab protocols, and useful links are provided.
Data visualization tools that present current national estimates of cancer incidence, mortality, and prevalence.
Provides a suite of data visualization tools based on current national estimates of the incidence, mortality, and prevalence of 27 cancer types in 184 countries, by sex and age group, collected as part of the GLOBOCAN project.
Estimates are based on the most recent data available to IARC and on information publicly available online. Formats for data visualisation include multi bars, dual bars, pie chart, geographic map, tree map, scatter plot, table, and sunburst.
Scholarly research, policy briefs, government reports, and other resources in the field of child care and early education.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (Research Connections) is an online library of research relevant to the work of child care and early education (CCEE) policymakers, consultants, professionals supporting the CCEE workforce, and researchers.
The library is supplemented with the following:
Resources from meetings, workgroups, and projects supported by the Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation
Guidance on evaluating research and using data
Curated lists of resources, including state and local COVID-19 reports, publications that feature data on all states, resources created by Research Connections, librarians' picks, and research on a range of topical categories
Resource to support accessible digital publishing with guidance on describing visual resources in arts and humanities publications.
The description of visual resources is a crucial component of accessible digital publications, as it affords access to the information contained in images for the many people with disabilities that affect reading, and for all the technologies that interact with publications when indexing, searching, or converting text to speech. Description makes visual resources more discoverable and sustainable, and makes publications more useful to more people.
In academic publications in the arts and humanities, description must be scholarly as well as accessible, and in line with existing standards: metadata, copyright, and disciplinary conventions. It is therefore best managed by the scholars, academic publishers, and arts organizations who create the publications.
The resources in this toolkit are designed to support authors, editors, publishers, and arts organizations in advancing the description of visual resources for accessibility in arts and humanities publications.
Ratings of companies according to corporate social responsibility issues using environmental, social, and governance (ESG) ratings. When using material from this database in reports and presentations, you must include the phrase "Used with permission of MSCI ESG Research."
ESG Direct from MSCI ESG Research LLC rates companies according to corporate social responsibility issues using environmental, social, and governance (ESG) ratings. Ratings and analyst insights are based on company initiatives, exposure, and controversies. This database also provides risk exposure indicators and risk management indicators for key components of ESG issues in each industry.
Earth, environmental, and space science preprints, presentations, and scholarly society documents.
The Earth and Space Science Open Archive (ESSOAr) is a community server established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of earth, environmental, and space science research by archiving and sharing early research outputs, including preprints, presentations from major scientific meetings, and important documents of scholarly societies.
Articles, reports, and webinar recordings on microfinance and financial inclusion.
FinDev Gateway, previously known as Microfinance Gateway, is CGAP’s independent knowledge platform where the global financial inclusion community comes together to share the latest research, lessons and ideas on making financial services work for poor people.
The Gateway features a collection of research and publications, original articles and resource centers on trends and important industry developments, and the latest announcements, news, events, trainings, and job opportunities related to microfinance and broader financial inclusion topics.
Platforms also available in Français, Español, and العربية.
Credit analytics and macro intelligence platform with credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic financial fundamental data, country risk research & indices, industry research, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
Includes up to 30 years history of fundamental financial data, 25 years of country risk data on over 200 countries, and sector reports for agribusiness, autos, banking & financial services, commodity prices, consumer & retail, consumer electronics, defense & security, oil & gas, insurance, food & drink, freight transport & shipping, information technology, infrastructure, medical devices, metals, mining, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals & healthcare, power, real estate, renewables, telecommunications, and tourism.
Marketing reports, including research in market analysis, technical reports, end-user studies, and more. When using material from this database in reports and presentations, you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Frost & Sullivan."
Frost & Sullivan is a research and consulting firm that tracks trends across a wide variety of industries. Its marketing reports offer the latest research in market analysis, technical reports, end-user studies, and more quantitative measurement based reports.
Markets analyzed include aerospace, agriculture, automotive, banking, electronics, energy, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, media, materials, oil & gas, security, and telecom, With a strong emphasis on technology and markets, research focuses on competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets.
Web-based research tool that offers access to an extensive database of georeferenced geological maps.
A web-based research tool that allows users to seamlessly search and integrate maps, sections, and other geographically-referenced geoscientific data from an extensive database of published georeferenced maps. Selected maps can be gathered for use in GIS software. Geofacets is designed for geoscientists working in upstream oil and gas exploration, and enables users to efficiently assess a region or basin's geologic characteristics and potential.
Evidence-based resource for the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology and microbiology. Promotional video Trial access is available through May 15, 2023. Send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network) provides a current, evidence-based resource for diagnosis, treatment, and teaching in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, and microbiology.
Coverage Includes: 350 infectious diseases from around the world. Contains epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD. Includes over 400 eBooks available in PDF that together summarize the status of individual infectious diseases in every country of the world. GIDEON is designed to help diagnose diseases, identify pathogens, and stay up to date on the latest trends in epidemiology and treatment.
Use GIDEON to diagnose, treat and track information on infectious diseases from around the globe.
Generate a country-specific diagnosis based on symptoms, signs, and laboratory data.
Display the epidemiological profile of a selected disease and list diseases that fit a set of epidemiological parameters.
Review country-specific notes and pre-travel information for travelers and medical practitioners
Review the pharmacology and compare usage of anti-infective drugs
Review the pharmacology and usage of vaccines
Identify and Track the Underlying Causes of Infectious Diseases
Identify over 1,600 taxa based on phenotypic characteristics
View a list of the typical positive and negative reactions for a specified organism
Compare the reactions of two or more species
Access comprehensive bacteria, mycobacteria, and yeasts lists as well as over 3,000 synonyms
Statistics and charts on deaths and injuries in the home, workplaces, on roads, and elsewhere.
From the website: "Injury Facts is designed as a tool for everyone – the safety professional, writer or journalist, public speaker, government worker, educator, business owner, parent. The data on this site provides reliable information to help you communicate the trends of the past, and the ones we see right now, to anticipate the future and change it for the better."
Searches for controlled trials involving human subjects.
The ISRCTN registry is recognized by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation, and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.
ISRCTN accepts all studies involving human subjects or populations with outcome measures assessing effects on human health and well-being, including studies in healthcare, social care, education, workplace safety, and economic development.
Research tool that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Includes texts in American and British literature, Shakespeare's plays and sonnets, and the King James Bible. More info
Free downloadable browser extension to provide quicker, easier access to scholarly articles and to avoid paywalls. Currently available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Safari, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers.
Select the version of Nomad for your browser, and once it is downloaded, select the University of Michigan-Flint as your organization. [image]
Once installation is complete, compatible databases will display clickable icons for the full text of the article, often with only one click. When available, it will also display icons linking to the issue of the journal in which the article appears. Example from PubMed
Circulation statistics for several thousand U.S. and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications.
The Media Intelligence Center provides circulation statistics for several thousand US and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on paid and non-paid subscriptions, including digital subscriptions, home delivery and single-copy sales and are in PDF format. Yearly audit reports also include geographic breakdowns of circulation and some demographic information on readership.
Technical notes: Use the Rapid Report on the Reports & Tools menu to quickly see circulation statistics for an individual issue of a publication or to compare stats for multiple issues. Rapid Reports can be downloaded as PDF or Excel files.
Online textbook on biochemistry with an emphasis on clinical medicine.
The Medical Biochemistry Page has been a continuously updated and expanding, free educational resource on the internet since 1996. The goal of the site is to provide extensive, detailed, and accurate information on a range of topics centered on the foundation of Medical Biochemistry. In addition to content that would be found in most Medical Biochemistry textbooks, The Medical Biochemistry Page contains integrated content related to physiology and pharmacology.
Data archive of theoretically derived, spatially referenced, nationwide measures of the physical and social environment in the United States.
Established in 2019, the National Neighborhood Data Archive is an open data repository. It was created to facilitate research on the relationship between neighborhoods and health, especially within the context of large federally funded surveys and cohort studies.
The NaNDA archive contains contextual measures for locations across the United States. NaNDA offers theoretically derived, spatially referenced, nationwide measures of the physical and social environment.
Anyone with research questions that address “place” – researchers, students, clinicians, policy makers, public health departments, and community organizations, among others – can use NaNDA data to explore topics of interest to neighborhoods and communities. NaNDA measures can be readily linked to survey data, cohort studies, electronic medical records, or other microdata, via geographic identifiers, or combined and explored on their own.
NaNDA datasets are created by researchers in the Social Environment and Health program at the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research.
Each NaNDA dataset represents a set of measures on a single topic of interest. Examples of topics to be found in NaNDA include socioeconomic disadvantage and affluence, walkability, crime, land use, recreational centers, libraries, fast food, climate, healthcare, housing, public transit, and more. Measures are available at multiple levels of spatial scale, from county to census tract to block group. New measures and spatial scales are added regularly.
Reports, articles, books & book chapters, administrative documents, and other materials from think tanks, nongovernmental & intergovernmental organizations, foundations, and government bodies on numerous policy areas, in the United States and globally.
Policy Commons links to more than 2.8 million+ policy reports, briefs, analyses, and datasets from 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and global research organizations. Content is harvested and indexed comprehensively on trending research topics across various disciplines—public policy, urban affairs, agricultural & environmental sciences, economics, social justice, gender equality, international development, sustainability, public health, law policy, and more.
As a preservation project, Policy Commons serves as a growing repository that includes member-contributed items, hard-to-find local and regional collections, at-risk content, and the document histories of 450 organizations that have closed their doors. Much of Policy Commons is open access. The Thompson Library has rights to the rescued collection, harvested content, and premium content including documents of the Council of Europe, African Books Collective, and books of the Environmental Law Institute.
"The courses are self-paced, and instructor-led, packed with an engaging mix of video, interactives, formative assessments and more. The user-friendly platform makes it simple for faculty to assign courses, or for students and researchers to learn autonomously - building practical skills for study, research and the workplace.
"The courses cover critical skills and research methods across all stages of academic study, split into 5 categories: navigating information, data literacy, data science skills, research skills, and getting published."
Primary sources documenting the deep and broad history of student organizing in the United States.
The completed collection will contain approximately 75,000 pages drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country. Materials intended for inclusion are wide-ranging in nature: Circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
The collection will capture the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources intended for inclusion will be broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint from the conservative to the anarchist.
The Herbarium’s collections were initiated in 1837 and have grown over time as scientific expeditions by UM biologists and many others have entrusted archival research materials, collected from nearly every region of the world, to its care. The collections are irreplaceable, originate from places and habitats that are now prohibitively expensive or dangerous to visit or that have been drastically altered by human activity. They include representatives of extinct species and populations, providing a portion of the only record available for studying effects of environmental change on the distribution, appearances, and genetic features of the world’s plants and fungi. The Herbarium has been instrumental in the careers of many leading biologists, both inside and outside academia, and is an essential component of the life sciences research and teaching at the University of Michigan.
Fish Species Descriptions: Descriptions of fish species from the Great Lakes region. Records include such information as family, scientific name, common name, general and specific descriptions, distribution, and ecology.
Fish Specimen Image Collection
Insect Division Collection
Mammal Division Field Notes
Mammal Division Maps
Mammal Division Specimen Images
Mollusks Division Collection
Reptiles and Amphibians Type Specimens
Reptiles and Amphibians Catalogue
Reptiles and Amphibians Audio Files
The UMMZ research collections were initiated in 1837 and have grown over time as scientific expeditions by UM biologists and many others have entrusted archival research materials, collected from every region of the world, to their care. Because of their age and global composition, the collections are irreplaceable biodiversity resources that include representatives of many extinct populations, species and faunas. Together with sister collections in peer museums, they provide the ultimate record for studying effects of anthropogenic environmental change on the distributions, appearances, and genetic features of global faunas.
Historical record of actions taken by the University of Michigan Board of Regents, 1837-present.
The Proceedings of the Board of Regents are the permanent historical record of actions taken by the University of Michigan Board of Regents from 1837 to the present. Proceedings volumes are organized on a fiscal year basis, so that volumes begin with the July meeting of one year and end with the June meeting of the next year. In addition to the text search capabilities of the Regents Proceedings found on this website, it is also possible to search the index to the Proceedings.
News, analysis, and legislation on federal, state, and international tax topics. When using material from this database in reports and presentations, the license requires that you include the phrase, "Used with permission of CCH Intelliconnect."
Formerly branded as Cheetah, VitalLaw includes the U.S. Master GAAP Guide with technical explanations of generally accepted accounting principles as documented in the Financial Accounting Standards Boards (FASB) Accounting Standards Codification (ASC).
Index of mathematics abstracts, reviews, and bibliographic data for millions of articles, books, proceedings, and other formats. This version requires login (recommended for UM-Flint students and faculty), but open access (https://zbmath.org/) is available.
Coverage begins in the 1700s and is complete from 1868 to present. It includes data from Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik as well. Entries are indexed with the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) schema which is maintained by zbMath and MathSciNet. Starting in 2021 zbMath became fully open access.