All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
*Excluding FILM PLATFORM and National Theatre titles
[source]
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
Journal articles & citations, government publications, conference papers, reports, theses, and other education-related documents. The ERIC Thesaurus can help identify useful subject terms. Click "more info..." for other versions of ERIC.
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. 1966-present.
Covers:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary & early childhood education
Education management
Higher education, including junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement, & evaluation
Many ERIC Documents are online in ERIC, and older ones are available on microfiche on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library.
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Alternate Name(s):Opposing Viewpoints In Context Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Global Issues
Covers contemporary social issues with pro & con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine, as well as business and the social sciences
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
Covers 1996-present.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Streaming audio and video of theater productions, poetry readings, and related educational resources.
Digital Theatre+ provides access to a streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions, musicals, and operas. The resource includes interviews with professional practitioners, behind-the-scenes documentaries, and teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background, and historical context for each play.
Multi-region input-output table (MRIO) model that provides a time series of high-resolution IO tables with matching environmental and social satellite accounts for 190 countries, 1990-2021. Requires individual registration with @umich.edu email for access. Available through March 17, 2024.
Requires individual registration with @umich.edu email for access to licensed content. [image]
This database is licensed through Sunday, March 17, 2024. Availability beyond that date has not yet been determined. Please direct any questions to pgstreby@umich.edu.
News, commentary, and opinion from Hispanic-American sources, in Spanish or English.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream: Offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English.
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990: howcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990).
Medical reference tool for point-of-care and clinical decision-making. Includes medical calculators, guidelines, and other decision aids. Mobile apps are available.
Authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Extensive annotated bibliographies in 18 subject areas. Oxford Bibliographies are authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. This collection guides researchers to the best available scholarship and is a path to discoverability as it allows for fluid movement between texts, journals, and databases within our library collection and beyond. Formal, current article editorial reviews are kept up to date with new articles and updates to existing articles added regularly.
U.S. Supreme Court opinions, briefs and other documentation,1897 - present.
Supreme Court Insight is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, with dockets, joint appendices, and amicus briefs. Transcripts of oral arguments dating back to 1955 are also included. Supreme Court Insight Certiorari Denied is a collection covering Supreme Court paid cases, in which the petition for writ of certiorari (PWC) is denied. This collection includes fully searchable PDFs of the docket, PWC, and all petition stage briefs.
University of Michigan-Flint
