All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged. *Excluding FILM PLATFORM and National Theatre titles [source]
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. 1966-present.
Adult, career and vocational education
Elementary & early childhood education
Higher education, including junior colleges
Tests, measurement, & evaluation
Many ERIC Documents are online in ERIC, and older ones are available on microfiche on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library.
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Over 30,000 documentary from an array of producers and distributors.
Kanopy Streaming offers a variety of documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active, California Newsreel, Checkerboard Films, Criterion Collection/Janus films, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber Edu, Media Education Foundation, National Film Board of Canada, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, and the DEFA Film Library's (East) German Film Collection.
All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices. To facilitate teaching, they can be projected in lecture halls, embedded in authenticated web pages, and watched off-campus (with login) with unlimited simultaneous viewers. Users can also create Playlists and make clips.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Global Issues
Covers contemporary social issues with pro & con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine, as well as business and the social sciences
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
BTAA Geospatial Information Network
Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources, including maps, images, and datasets.
The Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources in the portal are selected and curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at ten research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. This geoportal connects users to digital geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps from multiple data clearinghouses and library catalogs. Scanned maps from the University of Michigan’s Clark Library are searchable in the Geoportal.The interface offers both text and place based search options, and item pages display descriptive metadata records along with external links to download, view, or read more about the resources. This site is solely an aggregator and does not host any data.
Ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups.
The objective of the website is to make information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups. EthnoMed was designed to be used in clinics by care providers in the few minutes before seeing a patient in clinic. EthnoMed is intended to be a community voice in the clinic, so user feedback is essential. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas. Each cultural profile includes a description of the group's country of origin, language, interpersonal relations, and health/death issues.
Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
ProQuest legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. Each history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
Legislative histories may be used to discover the legislative intent behind a specific law and to aid in the teaching of legislative process to law school and main campus students. The histories also offer insight into laws of general interest to political science, government, and U.S. history researchers, as well as to students preparing for careers in public health, education, business, or any other discipline subject to federal regulation.
Infectious and immune-mediated disease data across many repositories.
The NIAID Data Ecosystem Discovery Portal enables users to find datasets from a wide range of repositories. The Discovery Portal regularly collects metadata on infectious and immune-mediated diseases (IIDs) from included repositories and indexes it in a searchable catalogue.
Results can be filtered by repository, health condition, pathogen species, host species, funding, conditions of access, variable measured, or measurement technique.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Department of Energy (DOE) database providing citations to publicly available energy-related publications.
This is an open-access database, but it links to some resources that are available only by subscription. To see if an article, chapter, book, or other content is available, an easy way is to save and use the Thompson Library bookmarklets.