All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
*Excluding FILM PLATFORM and National Theatre titles
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
Journal articles & citations, government publications, conference papers, reports, theses, and other education-related documents. The ERIC Thesaurus can help identify useful subject terms. Click "more info..." for other versions of ERIC.
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. 1966-present.
Adult, career and vocational education
Elementary & early childhood education
Higher education, including junior colleges
Tests, measurement, & evaluation
Many ERIC Documents are online in ERIC, and older ones are available on microfiche on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library.
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Alternate Name(s):Opposing Viewpoints In Context Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Global Issues
Covers contemporary social issues with pro & con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine, as well as business and the social sciences
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Directory of archives and their holdings in the U.S., U.K., and Ireland. Note: Some of the information listed is incomplete or out of date. We recommend verifying details with relevant institutions as needed.
Alternate Name(s):Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
Evidence-based resource for the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology and microbiology. Promotional videoTrial access is available through May 15, 2023. Send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network) provides a current, evidence-based resource for diagnosis, treatment, and teaching in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, and microbiology. Coverage Includes: 350 infectious diseases from around the world. Contains epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD. Includes over 400 eBooks available in PDF that together summarize the status of individual infectious diseases in every country of the world. GIDEON is designed to help diagnose diseases, identify pathogens, and stay up to date on the latest trends in epidemiology and treatment. Use GIDEON to diagnose, treat and track information on infectious diseases from around the globe.
Generate a country-specific diagnosis based on symptoms, signs, and laboratory data.
Display the epidemiological profile of a selected disease and list diseases that fit a set of epidemiological parameters.
Review country-specific notes and pre-travel information for travelers and medical practitioners
Review the pharmacology and compare usage of anti-infective drugs
Review the pharmacology and usage of vaccines
Identify and Track the Underlying Causes of Infectious Diseases
Identify over 1,600 taxa based on phenotypic characteristics
View a list of the typical positive and negative reactions for a specified organism
Compare the reactions of two or more species
Access comprehensive bacteria, mycobacteria, and yeasts lists as well as over 3,000 synonyms
Medical news, diseases, anatomy, drug information, decision point videos, clinical guidelines, CME & education, and more. Requires free registration. Mobile app available. Available on trial basis until April 30, 2023. Send feedback to email@example.com.
Articles from three influential American publications: The New Republic and The Nation (left-of-center), and National Review (right-of-center).
Includes these collections:
The Nation Archive, 1865-present. One of the longest-published American magazines of opinion and criticism, covering politics, culture, books and the arts - in America and around the world - from a liberal/leftist viewpoint.
National Review Archive, 1955-present. One of the longest-published American magazines of conservative opinion.
The New Republic Archive, 1914-present. Prominent liberal journal of opinion, covering American politics, foreign policy, and culture.
Authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Extensive annotated bibliographies in 18 subject areas. Oxford Bibliographies are authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. This collection guides researchers to the best available scholarship and is a path to discoverability as it allows for fluid movement between texts, journals, and databases within our library collection and beyond. Formal, current article editorial reviews are kept up to date with new articles and updates to existing articles added regularly.
Self-directed mini-courses on research methods, programming, and more. Trial access available through Friday, May 12, 2023. Send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Self-directed short courses ranging from 2 hours to 40 hours in length. Sage Campus includes 39 initially; will include more courses as they are developed.
Course topics include: using statistics, interviewing, analyzing qualitative data, designing a research project, getting published, presenting research, data management, text-mining, Introduction to R, Introduction to Python, data visualization.
A certificate of completion is offered at the end of each course. Sage Campus requires students to self-register to track progress.
U.S. Supreme Court opinions, briefs and other documentation,1897 - present.
Supreme Court Insight is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, with dockets, joint appendices, and amicus briefs. Transcripts of oral arguments dating back to 1955 are also included. Supreme Court Insight Certiorari Denied is a collection covering Supreme Court paid cases, in which the petition for writ of certiorari (PWC) is denied. This collection includes fully searchable PDFs of the docket, PWC, and all petition stage briefs.
All aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present; updated weekly.
VetMed Resource contains key records on all aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present. It is updated weekly with records gathered from over 125 countries. Features include:
Over 60,000 full text documents (journal articles, conference papers, reports)
Over 1.5 million bibliographic records with detailed keyword (metadata) tagging from the CAB Abstracts database
CAB Reviews, timely analysis written by subject experts
Animal Health and Production Compendium -- A renowned collection of datasheets providing expert analysis of animal health and production issues, including over 2000 images, an animal drugs database, a glossary, a food safety module, and parasite identification keys.
Events calendar of veterinary conferences/meetings