A-Z Databases

The American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges. AES represents over 135,000 energy professionals in every field and sector in academia, national laboratories, government, and industry in the United States and internationally. Timely reports, weekly publications, meetings and conferences, and services empower our members to pursue a more just and sustainable energy future.

Note: You must create an account on the American Energy Society site using an @umich.edu email address to access publications.

The Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources in the portal are selected and curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at ten research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. This geoportal connects users to digital geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps from multiple data clearinghouses and library catalogs. Scanned maps from the University of Michigan’s Clark Library are searchable in the Geoportal.The interface offers both text and place based search options, and item pages display descriptive metadata records along with external links to download, view, or read more about the resources. This site is solely an aggregator and does not host any data.

CEIC's Data Manager, CDMNext, provides access global economic data with a particular focus on emerging economies. Included data sets cover macroeconomic, financial and industry data across more than 200 countries collected from official and alternative sources. "6.6 million time series covering more than 200 countries, 20 industries and 18 macroeconomic sectors." -- CEIC

Interface allow users to create interactive charts of individual or combined data series. Charts can be downloaded in XLS, PDF, PNG, JPG; series data can be downloaded in Excel, CSV, or MatLib formats.

Data sets include:

• Global Database (213+ countries): macroeconomic, financial and industry data from official and alternative sources such as online platforms, satellites, internet searches and mobility trackers.
• World Trend Plus Database: benchmarking and reference data to compare developed and emerging markets
• High Frequency Database
• Special focus "premium" economic data sets for:
  • Brazil, Russia, India, Indonesia, China
  • Time-series records for macroeconomic, sector, and regional data

Indicator sectors: national accounts; production; sales, orders, inventory & shipments; government and public finance; demographic and labor market; construction and properties, inflation; foreign trade; domestic trade and household survey; monetary; balance of payments; banking statistics; tourism; interest and foreign exchange rates; energy; transport and telecommunications; business and economic survey; financial market.

CEIC is provided jointly by Kresge Library Services, the U-M Ann Arbor Department of Economics, and U-M Ann Arbor Library.

This dataset includes a list of oncology drugs that were first launched, approved, discontinued or withdrawn globally from 1989-2019. PharmaProject drugs mapped to Biomedtracker deals. Pharma/biotech company acquisitions (2000-2019) with the keyword terms oncology, cancer and tumor applied.

We do not have a subscription to the Pharmaprojects database. We have purchased a one time data pull from PharmaProjects in June 2023.

Equaldex is a collaborative knowledge base for the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) movement. The site aims to crowdsource every law related to LGBT rights to provide a comprehensive and global view of the LGBT rights movement.

Includes the Equality Index which measures the current status of LGBT rights, laws, and freedoms as well as public attitudes towards LGBT people.
 

The objective of the website is to make information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups. EthnoMed was designed to be used in clinics by care providers in the few minutes before seeing a patient in clinic. EthnoMed is intended to be a community voice in the clinic, so user feedback is essential. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas. Each cultural profile includes a description of the group's country of origin, language, interpersonal relations, and health/death issues.

Online version of the Europa World Year Book and all nine volumes of the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, containing detailed political, economic, and geographic information on over 250 countries and territories, including recent statistics, directory information, and current analysis. Plus thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of some 1,900 international organizations. Additional features include: the ability directly to compare multinational statistics in graph and tabular form; interactive visual features, including maps, flags and downloadable graphs; an extensive directory of research institutes specializing in each region; book and periodical bibliographies of further research; and more.

The University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Library's Finding Aids site provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories for archival records and manuscript collections. Use this site to search and explore finding aids, also called collection guides. Finding aids describe collections of primary sources and other unique, original, or rare materials held by these repositories. Materials include manuscripts, correspondence, organizational records, photographs, audio visual recordings, ephemera, and born-digital materials.

Includes these repositories:

• University of Michigan Bentley Historical Library
  
• University of Michigan William L. Clements Library
  
• Central Michigan University Clarke Historical Library
  
• University of Michigan Special Collections Research Center
  
• University of Michigan History of Art Visual Resources Collection
  
• Archives of Michigan
  
• MLibrary Finding Aids

For finding aids in the Genesee Historical Collections Center, visit Digital Collections at UM-Flint.

Nearmap is a subscription service that provides current, high resolution aerial imagery. Images are available via the Nearmap website for view in the browser-based interactive web mapping application or via the API, or accessed through an ArcGIS integration.

Sites include many urban and some adjacent-to-urban areas in the United States and a few in Canada. Recent coverage can be determined by this online tool. Some areas may include images going back to 2014.

The University of Michigan subscription to this resource has a specific monthly limit for all three campuses. We want you to use this resource as you need to, while understanding that it is not a limitless resource. Please plan your research accordingly.

Within 3 business days of your completing this form, you will receive an invitation from Nearmap to activate your account. Please feel free to follow up by emailing nearmapsupport@umich.edu for more information or to follow up about your account.

VetMed Resource contains key records on all aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present. It is updated weekly with records gathered from over 125 countries. Features include:

• Over 60,000 full text documents (journal articles, conference papers, reports)  
• Over 1.5 million bibliographic records with detailed keyword (metadata) tagging from the CAB Abstracts database  
• CAB Reviews, timely analysis written by subject experts  
• Animal Health and Production Compendium -- A renowned collection of datasheets providing expert analysis of animal health and production issues, including over 2000 images, an animal drugs database, a glossary, a food safety module, and parasite identification keys.  
• Breaking news  
• Events calendar of veterinary conferences/meetings