All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
*Excluding FILM PLATFORM and National Theatre titles
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Alternate Name(s):Opposing Viewpoints In Context Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Global Issues
Covers contemporary social issues with pro & con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. NEW:Proximity searching is now available.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine, as well as business and the social sciences
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes. Data can be viewed using a interactive MapViewer, and analyzed with our tools. Datasets can be downloaded. In addition, pages on news, information on the Arabidopsis Genome Initiative (AGI), Arabidopsis lab protocols, and useful links are provided.
Directory of archives and their holdings in the U.S., U.K., and Ireland. Note: Some of the information listed is incomplete or out of date. We recommend verifying details with relevant institutions as needed.
Resource dedicated to historiography and the examination of historical theory and methods using a global approach. Available through February 15, 2023. Send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Bloomsbury History: Theory & Method is an educational resource dedicated to historiography and the examination of historical theory and methods using a global approach. The resource includes 167 exclusive articles by authors based in 29 different countries, a 4-volume major reference work on the global history of historiography, and 71 ebooks.
C19: The 19th-Century Index is an integrated bibliographic resource for discovering 19th-century books, periodicals, official records, newspapers, and archives. Records in C19 come from the following sources:
Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
The Nineteenth Century microform project at the British Library
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900)
Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online (1790-1919)
British Periodicals Collections I and II (covering 1790-1931)
American Periodicals Series (1770-1919)
American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811-1849
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1801-1900)
Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers
Alternate Name(s):Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
Evidence-based resource for the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology and microbiology. Promotional videoTrial access is available through May 15, 2023. Send feedback to email@example.com.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network) provides a current, evidence-based resource for diagnosis, treatment, and teaching in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, and microbiology. Coverage Includes: 350 infectious diseases from around the world. Contains epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD. Includes over 400 eBooks available in PDF that together summarize the status of individual infectious diseases in every country of the world. GIDEON is designed to help diagnose diseases, identify pathogens, and stay up to date on the latest trends in epidemiology and treatment. Use GIDEON to diagnose, treat and track information on infectious diseases from around the globe.
Generate a country-specific diagnosis based on symptoms, signs, and laboratory data.
Display the epidemiological profile of a selected disease and list diseases that fit a set of epidemiological parameters.
Review country-specific notes and pre-travel information for travelers and medical practitioners
Review the pharmacology and compare usage of anti-infective drugs
Review the pharmacology and usage of vaccines
Identify and Track the Underlying Causes of Infectious Diseases
Identify over 1,600 taxa based on phenotypic characteristics
View a list of the typical positive and negative reactions for a specified organism
Compare the reactions of two or more species
Access comprehensive bacteria, mycobacteria, and yeasts lists as well as over 3,000 synonyms
Searches for controlled trials involving human subjects.
The ISRCTN registry is recognized by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation, and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.
ISRCTN accepts all studies involving human subjects or populations with outcome measures assessing effects on human health and well-being, including studies in healthcare, social care, education, workplace safety, and economic development.
Data documenting killings by police, nationally and by state, and by race & ethnicity. Uses data gathered from Google News, the Washington Post, and the Fatal Encounters dataset. Covers 2013 - present.
Articles from three influential American publications: The New Republic and The Nation (left-of-center), and National Review (right-of-center).
Includes these collections:
The Nation Archive, 1865-present. One of the longest-published American magazines of opinion and criticism, covering politics, culture, books and the arts - in America and around the world - from a liberal/leftist viewpoint.
National Review Archive, 1955-present. One of the longest-published American magazines of conservative opinion.
The New Republic Archive, 1914-present. Prominent liberal journal of opinion, covering American politics, foreign policy, and culture.
The Herbarium’s collections were initiated in 1837 and have grown over time as scientific expeditions by UM biologists and many others have entrusted archival research materials, collected from nearly every region of the world, to its care. The collections are irreplaceable, originate from places and habitats that are now prohibitively expensive or dangerous to visit or that have been drastically altered by human activity. They include representatives of extinct species and populations, providing a portion of the only record available for studying effects of environmental change on the distribution, appearances, and genetic features of the world’s plants and fungi. The Herbarium has been instrumental in the careers of many leading biologists, both inside and outside academia, and is an essential component of the life sciences research and teaching at the University of Michigan.
Fish Species Descriptions: Descriptions of fish species from the Great Lakes region. Records include such information as family, scientific name, common name, general and specific descriptions, distribution, and ecology.
Fish Specimen Image Collection
Insect Division Collection
Mammal Division Field Notes
Mammal Division Maps
Mammal Division Specimen Images
Mollusks Division Collection
Reptiles and Amphibians Type Specimens
Reptiles and Amphibians Catalogue
Reptiles and Amphibians Audio Files
The UMMZ research collections were initiated in 1837 and have grown over time as scientific expeditions by UM biologists and many others have entrusted archival research materials, collected from every region of the world, to their care. Because of their age and global composition, the collections are irreplaceable biodiversity resources that include representatives of many extinct populations, species and faunas. Together with sister collections in peer museums, they provide the ultimate record for studying effects of anthropogenic environmental change on the distributions, appearances, and genetic features of global faunas.
Historical record of actions taken by the University of Michigan Board of Regents, 1837-present.
The Proceedings of the Board of Regents are the permanent historical record of actions taken by the University of Michigan Board of Regents from 1837 to the present. Proceedings volumes are organized on a fiscal year basis, so that volumes begin with the July meeting of one year and end with the June meeting of the next year. In addition to the text search capabilities of the Regents Proceedings found on this website, it is also possible to search the index to the Proceedings.