All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged. *Excluding FILM PLATFORM and National Theatre titles [source]
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Short video tutorials on using CINAHL
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. 1966-present.
Adult, career and vocational education
Elementary & early childhood education
Higher education, including junior colleges
Tests, measurement, & evaluation
Many ERIC Documents are online in ERIC, and older ones are available on microfiche on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library.
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
Over 30,000 documentary from an array of producers and distributors.
Kanopy Streaming offers a variety of documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active, California Newsreel, Checkerboard Films, Criterion Collection/Janus films, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber Edu, Media Education Foundation, National Film Board of Canada, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, and the DEFA Film Library's (East) German Film Collection.
All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices. To facilitate teaching, they can be projected in lecture halls, embedded in authenticated web pages, and watched off-campus (with login) with unlimited simultaneous viewers. Users can also create Playlists and make clips.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Global Issues
Covers contemporary social issues with pro & con and background information. Also allows searching of the collection Global Issues.
Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.
CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.
Online books and journals, primarily in the life and physical sciences, technology, and medicine, as well as business and the social sciences
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Non-partisan energy news and insights. Includes newsletters, reports, and podcasts.
The American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges. AES represents over 135,000 energy professionals in every field and sector in academia, national laboratories, government, and industry in the United States and internationally. Timely reports, weekly publications, meetings and conferences, and services empower our members to pursue a more just and sustainable energy future.
Note: You must create an account on the American Energy Society site using an @umich.edu email address to access publications.
BTAA Geospatial Information Network
Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources, including maps, images, and datasets.
The Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources in the portal are selected and curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at ten research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. This geoportal connects users to digital geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps from multiple data clearinghouses and library catalogs. Scanned maps from the University of Michigan’s Clark Library are searchable in the Geoportal.The interface offers both text and place based search options, and item pages display descriptive metadata records along with external links to download, view, or read more about the resources. This site is solely an aggregator and does not host any data.
Provides access to global economic data with a focus on emerging economies.
CEIC's Data Manager, CDMNext, provides access global economic data with a particular focus on emerging economies. Included data sets cover macroeconomic, financial and industry data across more than 200 countries collected from official and alternative sources. "6.6 million time series covering more than 200 countries, 20 industries and 18 macroeconomic sectors." -- CEIC
Interface allow users to create interactive charts of individual or combined data series. Charts can be downloaded in XLS, PDF, PNG, JPG; series data can be downloaded in Excel, CSV, or MatLib formats.
Data sets include:
Global Database (213+ countries): macroeconomic, financial and industry data from official and alternative sources such as online platforms, satellites, internet searches and mobility trackers.
World Trend Plus Database: benchmarking and reference data to compare developed and emerging markets
High Frequency Database
Special focus "premium" economic data sets for:
Brazil, Russia, India, Indonesia, China
Time-series records for macroeconomic, sector, and regional data
Indicator sectors: national accounts; production; sales, orders, inventory & shipments; government and public finance; demographic and labor market; construction and properties, inflation; foreign trade; domestic trade and household survey; monetary; balance of payments; banking statistics; tourism; interest and foreign exchange rates; energy; transport and telecommunications; business and economic survey; financial market.
CEIC is provided jointly by Kresge Library Services, the U-M Ann Arbor Department of Economics, and U-M Ann Arbor Library.
Pharmaceutical drug development and pipeline data for oncology drugs. You must be logged in to your UMICH Google account to open this spreadsheet.
This dataset includes a list of oncology drugs that were first launched, approved, discontinued or withdrawn globally from 1989-2019. PharmaProject drugs mapped to Biomedtracker deals. Pharma/biotech company acquisitions (2000-2019) with the keyword terms oncology, cancer and tumor applied.
We do not have a subscription to the Pharmaprojects database. We have purchased a one time data pull from PharmaProjects in June 2023.
Collects, displays, and analyzes data about LGBT laws, facts, polls, and opinions globally, by region and country.
Equaldex is a collaborative knowledge base for the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) movement. The site aims to crowdsource every law related to LGBT rights to provide a comprehensive and global view of the LGBT rights movement.
Includes the Equality Index which measures the current status of LGBT rights, laws, and freedoms as well as public attitudes towards LGBT people.
Ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups.
The objective of the website is to make information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups. EthnoMed was designed to be used in clinics by care providers in the few minutes before seeing a patient in clinic. EthnoMed is intended to be a community voice in the clinic, so user feedback is essential. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas. Each cultural profile includes a description of the group's country of origin, language, interpersonal relations, and health/death issues.
An "International Guide to the Academic World." Directory of universities, libraries, learned societies, research institutes, museums, galleries, and international cultural, scientific, & educational organizations worldwide.
Reference source of regions, countries, territories, international organizations, and comparative statistics.
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and all nine volumes of the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, containing detailed political, economic, and geographic information on over 250 countries and territories, including recent statistics, directory information, and current analysis. Plus thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of some 1,900 international organizations. Additional features include: the ability directly to compare multinational statistics in graph and tabular form; interactive visual features, including maps, flags and downloadable graphs; an extensive directory of research institutes specializing in each region; book and periodical bibliographies of further research; and more.
Search or browse finding aids for archival collections at UM Ann Arbor and other locations.
The University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Library's Finding Aids site provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories for archival records and manuscript collections. Use this site to search and explore finding aids, also called collection guides. Finding aids describe collections of primary sources and other unique, original, or rare materials held by these repositories. Materials include manuscripts, correspondence, organizational records, photographs, audio visual recordings, ephemera, and born-digital materials.
Includes these repositories:
University of Michigan Bentley Historical Library
University of Michigan William L. Clements Library
Central Michigan University Clarke Historical Library
University of Michigan Special Collections Research Center
University of Michigan History of Art Visual Resources Collection
Current, high resolution aerial imagery of urban and some suburban areas in the United States and parts of Canada. No guest access.
Nearmap is a subscription service that provides current, high resolution aerial imagery. Images are available via the Nearmap website for view in the browser-based interactive web mapping application or via the API, or accessed through an ArcGIS integration.
Sites include many urban and some adjacent-to-urban areas in the United States and a few in Canada. Recent coverage can be determined by this online tool. Some areas may include images going back to 2014.
The University of Michigan subscription to this resource has a specific monthly limit for all three campuses. We want you to use this resource as you need to, while understanding that it is not a limitless resource. Please plan your research accordingly.
Within 3 business days of your completing this form, you will receive an invitation from Nearmap to activate your account. Please feel free to follow up by emailing email@example.com for more information or to follow up about your account.
All aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present; updated weekly.
VetMed Resource contains key records on all aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present. It is updated weekly with records gathered from over 125 countries. Features include:
Over 60,000 full text documents (journal articles, conference papers, reports)
Over 1.5 million bibliographic records with detailed keyword (metadata) tagging from the CAB Abstracts database
CAB Reviews, timely analysis written by subject experts
Animal Health and Production Compendium -- A renowned collection of datasheets providing expert analysis of animal health and production issues, including over 2000 images, an animal drugs database, a glossary, a food safety module, and parasite identification keys.
Events calendar of veterinary conferences/meetings