Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Academic journals and dissertations published in Taiwan and China, in Chinese or English, published in the U.S.A., Hong Kong, Malaysia, and other countries. Covers six main categories: Humanities, Basic & Applied Sciences, Health & Medical Care, Bio-Agriculture, Engineering, and Social Sciences.
New
American history, literature, and cultural primary sources, spanning five centuries.
New
Primary source collections.
New
Primary text collections.
New
Collections of primary sources in U.S. business, labor, and economic history.
New
Primary source collections, particularly covering gay and lesbian history.
New
Primary sources from the collections Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons and Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection, 1939-1945.
New
Primary text collections, including many U.S. State Department documents relating to Latin America.
New
Primary source collections from the 19th and 20th centuries.
New
Primary sources from the collections American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893 and American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism.
Trial
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 - today.
Trial access until Friday, April 30, 2021. Send feedback to pgstreby@umich.edu.
New

  • Why choose this? Global Health provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health, nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more.
  • Target audience: Researchers in the health sciences and public health.
  • What it covers: Over 1.2 million records dating back to 1973. Also included is the Global Health Archive, consisting of 800,000 records from 1910-1973.
  • Important note: The "Find in my library" buttons only work for Ann Arbor users. See "more..." for details.

New
Next generation SciFinder interface that includes the latest datasets, search features, and mobile support. See the SciFinder User Guide for important login and other information.

Proxy string

If you are denied access to an online resource provided by the Thompson Library, it might be because there is no proxy string in the URL. You can attach the following (including the equals sign) to the front of the URL and try again:

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=

Example:

https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.2307/3162256   (not accessible off campus)

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.2307/3162256   (accessible off campus)

If you still cannot gain access, please contact a librarian. It's helpful if you have the the error or denial-of-access page in front of you when you contact us.

DOI: If you have a DOI (digital object identifier) for an article, but not a complete URL, add this to the beginning of the DOI:

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=https://dx.doi.org/

Example:

10.2307/3162256 (DOI without a URL)

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=https://dx.doi.org/10.2307/3162256 (working URL)

You can also visit the DOI link resolver at https://dx.doi.org/ and enter the DOI to get a working URL. You will still need to add the proxy string if you're off campus.

EZProxy Bookmarklet

The EZProxy bookmarklet lets you reload a web page through the Thompson Library’s EZProxy server. If the page you are visiting is one that the library has a subscription for, and you're presently off-campus, then you should get you immediate access to the resource once you've logged in with your uniqname and password.

How Do You Add It?

There's a different method for different browsers:

  Firefox: Right-click on the following link, then select the "Bookmark This Link" option:
Reload with Thompson Library EZProxy
   
  Internet Explorer: Right-click on this link
Reload with Thompson Library EZProxy
Select the "Add to Favorites..." option. You may be warned that you are adding a link which may be unsafe. While some links like this may be unsafe, we believe this one is safe. You can click whichever option is required to continue.
   
  Safari and Google Chrome: Drag this link to your bookmarks toolbar:
Reload with Thompson Library EZProxy
   

Once you've added this bookmark to your web browser, selecting it will attempt to reload your current page through the Thompson Library's EZProxy. If it's a resource that your UM-Flint affiliation gets you access, you'll pass through a login screen and be granted access to it. Otherwise, you'll get the same page you started with.

Please let us know how well the EZProxy bookmarklet works.

title
Loading...