Offers nearly 70,000 streamed videos in a wide range of subject areas. Includes documentaries, feature films, news programs, and more.
Academic Video Online delivers nearly 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. The database includes includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Distributors include CNN, PBS, A&E Television, BBC, 60 Minutes (CBS), Sony Pictures Classics, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, and many others.
Combined search platform for ASP text, audio, and video collections.
Search across all video, audio, and text collections provided by Alexander Street Press. By making your own account, you can save and share clips and playlists. Audio and video recordings can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours. A complete list of the collections within Alexander Street Press is available online.
Documentary films & newsreels of significant events in U.S. history, 1492-2001, and filmed 1898-2010.
Upon completion, American History in Video will contain over 5700 documentary films and newsreels (over 2000 hours) of significant events in U.S. history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.
Documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage covering history, politics, sociology, art, and culture.
Black Studies in Video is an Alexander Street Press collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Perspectives collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. Upon completion, Black Studies in Video will have about 500 hours of video, in streaming format.
Videos from Alexander Street Press can be downloaded to a phone or other portable device for viewing within 24 hours.
Ethnographic documentaries and interviews of anthropologists.
The collection covers every region of the world and provides long-term perspectives on the study of regions and cultures, as well as the historical development of documentary film itself. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
Video streaming of over 1000 documentary films previously distributed by Filmakers Library.
Each film has a transcript; many include filmmaker biography and notes. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
Includes documentaries on race & gender studies, human rights, globalization & global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science & current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video.
The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Modern independently-distributed feature films and short films, available in streaming video.
The collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors, including documentaries, comedies, and dramas. All films were presented at major film festivals. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards. Film clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared with others. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, available for 48 hours.
High-quality films of full-length performances by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, and music.
OntheBoards.tv is an on-demand website for HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. This first-of-its-kind site brings contemporary work to a wider public by filming top caliber performances with multiple high-definition cameras, editing the film collaboratively with the artists, and delivering them online as feature-length performance films. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as in peer theaters across the country, the performances present a snapshot of the best new works by current leaders in dance, theater, and music. The films consist of compelling international and northwest contemporary performance, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the US and works that will never be performed again.
Classic films from the silent era, in streaming video.
Classic and little-known films from the silent era, the 1890s to 1930s. Feature films, shorts and serials are represented. Includes classics such as "Birth of a Nation", "Intolerance", "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" and Battleship Potemkin". Included are films distributed by British Film Institute National Archive, Cineteca Bologna and Lobster Films in Paris.
When complete, Silent Film Online will include films distributed by Flicker Alley, including several early films by Charlie Chaplin, Lumiere, Mendel, Cecil B. DeMille, and Abel Gance.
Documentary, newsreel, and feature films by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, Eastern European, and Latin American filmmakers.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture, and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, East Germany, Great Britain, and Cuba.
Provides streaming video access to original productions of plays, along with film documentaries on the subject of theater.
Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history.
Includes Theatre in Video Supplement, published June 2011.
NB: This resource is limited to three simultaneous users. If you cannot access it, please try again later.
Documentaries covering Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania, from earliest civilizations to the present.
Upon completion, World History in Video will contain over 1750 documentary films and newsreels (over 1000 hours) of significant events in world history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript; many include filmmaker biography and notes. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.
Newsreels of significant historical events in streaming format.
The full run of newsreels on significant historical events from throughout the 20th century. Includes the March of Time series, and selected videos from American History in Video and World History in Video, but adds new material from France, Japan, the Netherlands, and other countries throughout the world.
Each film has a transcript or translation. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android device, available for 48 hours.
Physical Discs and Tapes
To search for films that the library has as a DVD, BluRay, or VHS use the Mirlyn catalog and limit by format to Video (DVD) or Video (VHS). Limiting the format to "Visual Material" will return streaming films in the catalog.