Index of films produced in America or by American production companies.
Covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the American Film Institute editorial team and added each year.
Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of nearly 600 feature films, documentaries and shorts. Twenty-four countries across Asia are represented, with strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.
All films are indexed by filmmaker, country, language, original language, genre and theme. Subtitles and synopses are provided for all films.
Films and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others in the UM-Flint community.
Complete runs of digitized major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and others.
Including the collections "Cinema, Film and Television" and "Music, Radio and The Stage," this archival research resource contains the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries. Core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, and theater, together with film fan magazines, and music press titles, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. [More info]
Combined access to several collections of film- and entertainment-related articles.
Includes these collections:
• AFI Catalog
• Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1) (EIMA2)
• FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
• Film Index International
• Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Index of articles on films and film personnel from around the world.
Filmography that gives fully international coverage of around 118,000 films and 685,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. Its rich content also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. All eras of film-making are covered, from the early silent movies to recent box-office hits. Based on the British Film Institute's Summary of Information on Film and Television (SIFT) database, Film Index International is both inclusive and authoritative.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also include full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film, dramatic arts, and the history of printing and publishing, covering scholarly publications from the 1920s to the present. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
International in scope, it includes over 2.7 million citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations from 6,000+ periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,200 book publishers. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a collection of thousands of subject terms and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Why choose this? ProQuest Research is a wide-ranging resource with a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers, and is designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject areas extensively.
Target audience: All levels, from beginning scholars to advanced researchers.
What it covers: Over 5,000 magazines and journals, 1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. All subjects.