Gateway to databases and text collections focusing on Classical and Medieval European history.
Includes the following databases:
• Bibliography of British and Irish History
• International Medieval Bibliography
• Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale
• International Directory of Medievalists
• Database of Latin Dictionaries
• Databases searchable via Cross Database Searchtool:
◦ Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
◦ Aristoteles Latinus Database
◦ Monumenta Germaniae Historica
◦ Library of Latin Texts - Series A
◦ Library of Latin Texts - Series B
Surveys a range of topics and approaches in the study of language variation and use in society.
"The most comprehensive overview available, this Handbook is an essential guide to sociolinguistics today. Reflecting the breadth of research in the field, it surveys a range of topics and approaches in the study of language variation and use in society. As well as linguistic perspectives, the handbook includes insights from anthropology, social psychology, the study of discourse and power, conversation analysis, theories of style and styling, language contact and applied sociolinguistics. Language practices seem to have reached new levels since the communications revolution of the late twentieth century. At the same time face-to-face communication is still the main force of language identity, even if social and peer networks of the traditional face-to-face nature are facing stiff competition of the Facebook-to-Facebook sort. The most authoritative guide to the state of the field, this handbook shows that sociolinguistics provides us with the best tools for understanding our unfolding evolution as social beings."
Comprehensive collection of government gazettes, bulletins, announcements, and proclamations from the People's Republic of China.
This database is a comprehensive collection of government gazettes, bulletins, announcements, and proclamations. It contains national and local laws and regulations from Chinese government departments at all levels and is updated frequently. Currently there are 380,000 items mainly published after 1994, with some titles covering retrospectively from the first issue.
Covering the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using 21st century technology, the DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (covering C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.
The DOE is based on a computerized Corpus comprising at least one copy of each text surviving in Old English. These texts fall into several categories: prose, poetry, glosses to Latin texts and inscriptions. In the prose in particular, there is a wide range of texts: saints' lives, sermons, biblical translations, penitential writings, laws, charters and wills, records (of manumissions, land grants, land sales, land surveys), chronicles, a set of tables for computing the moveable feasts of the Church calendar and for astrological calculations, medical texts, prognostics (the Anglo-Saxon equivalent of the horoscope), charms (such as those for a toothache or for an easy labor), and even cryptograms.
Covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material.
Spanish language ebooks and ejournals, published in Spain & Latin America.
Collection of Spanish language ebooks and ejournals, published in Spain, the Caribbean and Latin America. Includes publications in a wide variety of subject areas including language and linguistics, literary criticism, history, anthropology, political science, and more.
Full-text searchable early printed books in Arabic script on sciences, history, geography from the holdings of the British Library
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Presented in three subject modules together covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Searchable, full-text grammars from diverse language groups, enabling cross-linguistic queries.
EEG features comprehensive descriptions of individual languages from geographical regions and language families all across the world, including Africa, South America, Asia and Asia-Pacific. Makes full grammars available together in an interlinked and semantically-annotated format, enabling cross-linguistic queries. Allows for cross-language comparison of grammatical phenomena, as well as individual language descriptions. Enhanced through multimedia components such as audio, video and maps. Updated semiannually with new grammars. Initially 20 grammars, EEG will grow with semi-annual updates.
Encyclopedia of all of the world’s known living languages.
Produced by SIL, the Summer Institute in Linguistics. Organized by world area, UN region and country. Lists alternate language and dialect names. Includes estimate of number of speakers, writing scripts used, availability of literature. Includes statistical information and language maps.
Periodicals published in foreign languages, cutting across subjects and including religious, literary, and political magazines. Includes French, Spanish, Norwegian, German, Swedish, and Welsh. Most titles published in the United States.
Covers 1,500+ periodicals across all humanities and social sciences fields. 1907-present (indexing); 1984-present (abstracts); 1994-present (selected full text).
Combines Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Social Science Abstracts into a single file with Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, covering all humanities and social sciences fields, including: Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Community Health, Criminology, Dance, Economics, Environmental studies, Ethics, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also include full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
Poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Latino authors working in the United States.
This resource brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.
Historical database of lexicons from circa 1400-1702.
Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME) is a historical database of print and manuscript sources documenting the English language between the fifteenth and early eighteenth centuries. LEME includes over 1,200 lexicons, 150 of which are fully searchable. Through these historical lexicons, researchers can see how speakers of early modern English described the meaning of words and their equivalents in other languages. The database includes monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises.
Indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research. PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Social Sciences
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Why choose this? ProQuest Research is a wide-ranging resource with a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers, and is designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject areas extensively.
Target audience: All levels, from beginning scholars to advanced researchers.
What it covers: Over 5,000 magazines and journals, 1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. All subjects.
Searchable database of Greek texts from Homer to A.D. 1453. Free personal registration required.
This database of all Greek texts from Homer to A.D. 600, and many texts dating to the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of Byzantium in 1453. The database contains more than 105 million words from over 10,000 works associated with 4,000 authors and is constantly updated and improved with new features and texts.
Note: In order to access this database (both the free limited version and the institutionally-subscribed full version), you will need to set up an individual account by registering here: https://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/Iris/reg.jsp
Linguistic maps detailing the distribution of languages, dialects, words, and grammatical features.
The maps are selected from De Gruyter linguistic atlases and books. High-resolution linguistic maps enriched with detailed metadata allow searching by sub-discipline, language or dialect, geographical location, year or century described, map caption or description, map author, book author, book title, year of publication, and full text. Map interface allows zooming, printing, and PDF export. Maps are in English and German; metadata is in English for comprehensive searching.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Mobile app available.
Permits searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 12,000+ journals. • Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder. • Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping. • Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report. • Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns.
Includes: • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) • Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present) • Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present) • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present) • Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present) • Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
Chinese-language texts. (Currently requires a login even on campus.)
This is a database of ancient books created by Zhonghua Book Company 中華書局 (ZHBC). All the materials included are proofread, collated, and published by ZHBC, covering Confucian classics, history, philosophy, and literature. This database features the Twenty-Four Histories (dynastic histories from remote antiquity until the Ming Dynasty), annotation and commentaries of Thirteen Classics in the Qing Dynasty, collection of historical notes, and basics of classical literature, among many others. Currently there are 630 titles in the database, with 400 million characters.
Zia Davidian (she/her)
Please email or schedule an appointment to get in touch!