Using this authenticated link while off campus makes obtaining resources easier. Articles that are available at UM-Flint will have the link "Find full text @ UM-Flint," or a link directly to the article, or both. Citations can be exported into RefWorks and EndNote.
Covers all aspects of music, including biographies, definitions of terms, musical examples, lists of works, links to sounds, etc. Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2d ed, revised (2006). Included in Oxford Music Online (http://go.umflint.edu/omo).
Searchable access to 9 million+ volumes, with full text access to 2.5 million+ volumes.
Prehistory - present. A massive digital library bringing together materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization schemes. Includes searchable access to over 9 million volumes, including over 5 million books and over 240,000 serial publications, with full text access to 27% of these materials (over 2.5 million volumes).
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Streaming access to more than 500 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access offers users instant access to more than 500 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and/or Spanish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many operas.
NB: This resource is limited to ten simultaneous users. If you cannot access it, please try again later.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) Online is a general encyclopedia of music. It offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Comprehensive guide to music periodicals and other literature from 1970 to the present.
This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar.
Database of historical and current chart data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, and other reporting agencies from over 30 countries.
Music Industry Data is a growing repository of historical and current data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, IFPI, GfK Entertainment and other reporting agencies from more than 30 countries around the world. It provides coverage of the Americas, Europe, and Asia and is updated weekly. Coverage for the U.S. and UK extends back to the mid-1950s. Data sets can be exported into spreadsheets or as high quality "relative pitch graphs" of the precise recordings and time period selected by the user. The database also includes copyright-cleared sound samples for international charting albums and singles in multiple genres.
Magazine articles on rock, folk, rap, and other musical genres.
From the publisher: Music Magazine Archive is a series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap. Each genre-based collection unites every page and every issue of a diverse and influential group of magazines. These publications uniquely capture the social and historical context of each genre, and together support scholarly research areas such as race, class, gender, American studies, youth culture, and more across some of the most progressive decades of the 20th and 21st centuries. Researchers will find all material represented in the original publications, preserved in its original context, fully searchable and in high-resolution full color.
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video.
The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Streaming audio of every jazz genre and time period, featuring jazz artists from around the world.
More than 130,000 tracks from scores of labels are represented. Mobile devices supported. Product is limited to three simultaneous users--if you experience a turn-away, please check back.
The labels in Jazz Music Library include: Verve, GRP Records, Impulse, Jazzology, American Music Records, G.H.B. Records, Black Swan, Solo Art, Circle Records, Paramount, Concord Records, Concord Picante, Concord Jazz, Fantasy Records, Fantasy Jazz, Contemporary Records, Good Time Jazz, Milestone, Monterey Jazz Festival Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, Peak, Prestige, Riverside, Stretch Records, Original Jazz Classics, and Universal Edition.
Streaming audio of more than a million tracks of classical music covering all time periods.
Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to 86,000 CDs with more than a million tracks, including both standard and rare repertoire. Genres include classical, jazz, folk, blues, nostalgia, world, contemporary instrumental, Chinese, pop and rock, gospel, spoken word, and relaxation.
NML provides access to the complete Naxos catalog, as well as the complete catalogs or selected recordings of over 400 labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics, and Warner Classics.
NML can be accessed from any computer, or with a iPhone/iPod Touch or Android App.
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.
Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 1,600 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, and other labels and is continuously updated to offer the best selection of performing arts videos.
Key features include:
• Over 1600 full-length videos, available anytime, anywhere
• Create custom clips: edit and add them to individual playlists
• Subtitles available in 5 languages
• Search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival
• Access pre-defined video chapters and other points of interest including individual arias and scene breaks
• View video as Full Screen, 2/3 Screen or 1/4 Screen
• Videos stream at 700 Kbps (standard quality) and 2 Mbps (high quality)
• Libretto/text included when available
Access to information on more than 6700 works by some 900 composers; searchable by duration, instrumentation, chorus type, & soloists. Updated monthly.
Orchestral Music Online is the most recent iteration of David Daniels's classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists throughout the world. Its features include:
• Access to information on more than 7,000 works by nearly 1,000 composers
• Quick search by composer, title, or keyword
• Advanced search instrumentation, duration, composition year, and more
• Browsing by composer
• Advanced search by duration, instrumentation, chorus type, and soloists
• Ability to cut and paste data into rehearsal schedules and other documents to save time and to eliminate transcription errors
• Monthly updates with new composers, new works, additional information, and corrections
• More than 1,000 changes since publication of the 4th print edition
• Links from individual works to music publishers and other sources
Includes clippings from a broad range of newspapers; composite photographs ("keysheets"); music sheet samples featuring popular music, show-tunes, jazz & dance music; photographs of theater, dance, and popular performance; publicity posters & lobby cards.
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research. PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Social Sciences
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. Most subjects covered.
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. Provides full text for articles from over 3,600 of these journals and magazines. Includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas extensively.
1865-present. Includes articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, etc.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, currently containing over 600,000 entries; approximately 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. Additional info from publisher
Full-text archive of music journalism covering all types of popular music from the 1960's to the present day.
Rock's Backpages is a digital collection of more than 31,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from a wide range of publications in the US and UK from Creem and Trouser Press to Rolling Stone and the New Musical Express. It covers the early 1960's to the present day and features more than five thousand artists, ranging from 500-word album (or concert) reviews to 15,000-word interviews and features. The database covers all types of popular music and includes regular content updates, with the addition of at least 50 new articles per week. The articles are full-text and fully searchable by artist, date, genre, and keyword.