Includes: America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922; America's Historical Imprints; Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; African American Periodicals, 1825-1995; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Provides analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Also explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making.
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
1923-present. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, and contains an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
1983-present-In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations.
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades.Data sources include the U.S. government, the World Bank, Dow Jones, Dun & Bradstreet, Mergent, and Standard & Poors.
Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.
Consists of over 45 themed collections of more than 90,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions from 1942 to 2014. Includes collections on Afghanistan, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nicaragua, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, and the Soviet Union. Topic collections include The Berlin Crisis, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Vietnam War and more.
400+ journals, covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
1976-present. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
Covers 1,500+ periodicals across all humanities and social sciences fields. 1907-present (indexing); 1984-present (abstracts); 1994-present (selected full text).
Combines Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Social Science Abstracts into a single file with Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, covering all humanities and social sciences fields, including: Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Community Health, Criminology, Dance, Economics, Environmental studies, Ethics, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Research & datasets on census enumerations; community/urban studies; conflict; economics; education; geography & environment; government bodies; health care; international systems; political behavior & attitudes; organizational behavior; social indicators.
Historical statistics (1750-2010) on the economics, populations, labor force, education, and transportation of nations.
Contains downloadable data drawn from and updating the 3 volume print reference work International Historical Statistics 1750-2005. IHS covers a wide range of topics including: the economy, trade, population, labor, education, migration and transportation with data spanning 260 years (1750-2010). The data is organized by regions which are presented as: The Americas, Europe, and Asia + Oceania. Tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel documents.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also include full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
Digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Includes summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
Contains six collections relating to political science, public administration, policy, and related areas.
Includes these collections:
• International Political Science Abstracts
• Peace Research Abstracts
• Political Science Complete
• Public Administration Abstracts
• Public Affairs Index
• World Politics Review
Why choose this? ProQuest Research is a wide-ranging resource with a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers, and is designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject areas extensively.
Target audience: All levels, from beginning scholars to advanced researchers.
What it covers: Over 5,000 magazines and journals, 1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. All subjects.
Database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues.
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Content includes articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Covers 1934-present; more complete coverage starts in 1970.
Books, journals, reference books, videos, data-sets and cases on social science research methods, methods map, and project planner.
Sage Research Methods includes over 2,000 books, reference books, journal articles, videos, data sets, and cases on all aspects of social science research methodology. Browse the methods map or the list of methods to identify a social science method to pursue further. Includes a project planning tool and a tool to identify the best statistical method for your project. Includes the notable "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) and the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods).
Includes these modules:
• Core module
• Datasets Parts 1 & 2
• Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics and Digital Methods
• Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills
• Cases Part 2, Health & Medicine Cases
• Foundations reference works
Covers 625 of the most important English-language journals across all the social sciences.
Includes full text of articles from over 200 journals as far back as 1995. Its records describe feature articles, biographical sketches, interviews, obituaries, scholarly replies, and book reviews longer than one-half page; book reviews of government documents and letters to the editor are not included. Subject areas covered include:
• Addiction Studies
• Area Studies
• Community Health & Medical Care
• Criminal Justice
• Environmental Studies
• Family Studies
• Gender Studies
• International Relations
• Mass Media
• Minority Studies
• Planning & Public Administration
• Policy Sciences
• Political Science
• Public Welfare
• Social Work
• Urban Studies
Covers 1983-present (Indexing); 1984-present (Abstracts); 1995-present (Selected full text).
Searchable archive of 16th-, 17th- and 18th-century British State Papers, Domestic and Foreign.
Includes these collections:
• Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
• Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
• Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
• Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
• Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
• Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
Comprises the full text of all United Nations parliamentary documents since 1993 and resolutions issued since 1946.
In addition to parliamentary documentation, all currently valid United Nations administrative issuances (ST/AI/-, ST/IC/- and ST/SGB/-) are included in the database. Does not include press releases or sales publications.
1946-present. Includes status and full text of all multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations; bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the UN; and recently deposited multilateral treaties not yet published.
Provides cross-search of multiple Web of Science databases. Mobile app available.
Includes: • Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present) • BIOSIS Previews (1926-present) • Current Contents Connect (1998-present) • Data Citation Index (1900-present) • Zoological Record (1864-present) • Journal Citation Reports (1997-present) at top edge