Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Access During COVID

Welcome Back!

Thompson Library is open, with the following modifications:

Before coming to campus, all students, faculty, and staff must complete the responsiBLUE health screen. Entrance to the Library is through the 2nd floor skywalk from UPAV or the 3rd floor skywalk from French Hall. There will be no access through the brass doors on the first floor. 

These plans are subject to change. Please check this page for ongoing updates.

Hours

Fall 2021 & Winter 2022

Monday - Thursday: 8 am - 10 pm
Friday: 8 am - 6 pm
Saturday: CLOSED
Sunday: 12 pm - 8 pm

Holiday Hours

November 24 - 26, 2021: CLOSED

December 24 - January 2, 2022: CLOSED

View the complete calendar

Chat Hours:

Monday to Friday: 9 am - 5 pm

Genesee Historical Collections Center (Archives)

Open by appointment only during the pandemic. Please contact Colleen Marquis, Archivist to inquire about access.

Borrowing and Returning Materials

We have reconfigured the circulation desk to allow for contactless self check-out procedures. Plexiglass barriers have been installed at service points, and we ask that you respect those barriers by not reaching around them.

Books can be returned to the circulation desk drop slots, or without coming into the library at the blue dropbox outside the ground floor main entrance.

Course Reserves have been converted to electronic versions whenever possible, however a physical books remain on reserve. Many have a 3 day loan period.

Limited technology lending is available. Laptops can be borrowed for in-library use only and will be sanitized between uses. Laptops have built-in webcams. We have added headsets with microphones that students can check out with a regular loan period and take home. Headsets have a USB connector. Additional technology is being loaned through the University's Emergency Laptop Loan Program, and the library is a pick up/drop off point for these items.

 

*New* Curbside Pickup

Please use this form to request curbside pick up for up to 10 physical books and/or media items from the UM-Flint collection.

  • Please check the Library Catalog for available items and submit a Get This request if that option is available.
  • Browsing collection books and some reserve and tech items are available for curbside pick up, though they can't be requested through the Catalog.
  • Items requested from the UM-Ann Arbor libraries can be picked up through Flint curbside.
  • Interlibrary loan items can be picked up through Curbside.

Once you have submitted your request, circulation staff will email you when your items are available for pick up with instructions on how to pick them up. 

Curbside pick up is available from 1 - 5pm Monday - Friday in the Thompson Library's loading dock off of Harrison Street, opposite of the University Pavilion parking ramp's entrance.

If you need help locating items through the Library Catalog, please contact a reference librarian.

Virtual Services

We're here for you with online services!

All our databases are available from off-campus. Subject-specific databases can be found in our research guides, alongside contact information for the subject librarian.

E-books can be searched from the E-book tab on our homepage.

Video tutorials on using the library, searching databases, and more are on our YouTube channel.

If you run into access issues or encounter an error please report it to us so that we can fix it as soon as possible. 

 

We're available virtually to answer your questions!

*New* Make an appointment with a librarian to meet via Zoom

Email us: reference-flint@umich.edu

Chat with us: libguides.umflint.edu/ask

Text us: 810-407-5434 (Text messages only, standard SMS rates may apply)

Call us: 810-762-3408 (Please leave a voicemail with your question(s) and we will respond as soon as possible!)

 

The Writing Center is online! Make an appointment with a tutor on their website. 

Genesee Historical Collections Center

The Genesee Historical Collections Center (archives) is open by appointment only. Please contact Colleen Marquis, Archivist to inquire about access.

Safety and Sanitation Measures

Your health and well being are very important to us. Accordingly, we are observing the following measures:

  • Health screening of everyone entering the library
  • MCard required for entry for contact tracing [more info]
  • Correct use of face masks required at all times [more info]
  • Seating spaced to maintain social distancing
  • Plastic barriers in place where library users interact with staff
  • Eating not allowed in the library
  • Cleaning wipes and hand sanitizer available
  • No-contact checkout and curbside pickup available
  • Reference assistance primarily online