University of Michigan-Flint Faculty Governance (ARCHIVED)

Ann Arbor Senate Assembly Minutes

Tri-Campus Task Force


Charge from 2017-2018

Charge 1: Identify, review, and assemble for comparison source materials and interpretations 
of those materials pertinent to the faculty governance structure and operation of the 
Dearborn, Flint and Ann Arbor campuses, and compare it with the structures of the University 
Senate established by the Regents’ Bylaws.
Charge 2: As deemed appropriate by the Task Force, conduct surveys or interviews of Senate 
members and key academic administrators of the Dearborn, Flint and Ann Arbor campuses to 
assess their opinions about the vitality and effectiveness of the current faculty governance 
structure and operation, faculty rights and prerogatives, and degrees of conformity of 
governance with all written policy documents identified in charge (1).
Charge 3: Identify ways that the single University Senate formed of the governing faculty on 
three campuses can interact and communicate with faculty and faculty governance bodies 
unique to UM-Flint and UM-Dearborn to strengthen faculty governance throughout the 
Charge 4: Summary of fact-finding, identified strengths and issues of concern, and 
recommendations for action by the Senate Assembly.

Ann Arbor Senate Assembly Documents