Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Covers the history of black American poetry, from its beginnings through the 20th century.
New
Health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
New
Collections of works by Brecht, Goethe, Kafka, Schiller
New
Find available federal funding opportunities from 26 different federal grant-making agencies including the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Department of Defense.
New
Tool for finding important topics and keywords within a text and matching them to JSTOR content. Upload text or a text file for analysis.
New
Seven collections of poetry from the United States, Canada, and United Kingdom.
Trial
Temporary access (varies by title). Full-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
Trial
Available through 5/31/2020. Contains over 100 jazz periodicals covering the period from 1914 to 2006.
Trial
Online lectures on a variety of subjects. Available through May 31, 2020.
Trial
Comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body.
[Trial access ends June 22, 2020. Send feedback to pgstreby@umich.edu]
Trial
Detailed guide to understanding how muscles and bones interact, and how common injuries and conditions occur.
[Trial access ends June 22, 2020. Send feedback to pgstreby@umich.edu]
Trial
Interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body.
[Trial access ends June 22, 2020. Send feedback to pgstreby@umich.edu]
Trial
Video reference atlas with 3D animations that communicate core physiology and common conditions.
[Trial access ends June 22, 2020. Send feedback to pgstreby@umich.edu]

Proxy string

If you are denied access to an online resource provided by the Thompson Library, it might be because there is no proxy string in the URL. You can attach the following (including the equals sign) to the front of the URL and try again:

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=

Example:

http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.2307/3162256   (not accessible off campus)

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.2307/3162256   (accessible off campus)

If you still cannot gain access, please contact a librarian. It's helpful if you have the the error or denial-of-access page in front of you when you contact us.

DOI: If you have a DOI (digital object identifier) for an article, but not a complete URL, add this to the beginning of the DOI:

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

Example:

10.2307/3162256 (DOI without a URL)

http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/3162256 (working URL)

You can also visit the DOI link resolver at http://dx.doi.org/ and enter the DOI to get a working URL. You will still need to add the proxy string if you're off campus.

EZProxy Bookmarklet

The EZProxy bookmarklet lets you reload a web page through the Thompson Library’s EZProxy server. If the page you are visiting is one that the library has a subscription for, and you're presently off-campus, then you should get you immediate access to the resource once you've logged in with your uniqname and LAN password.

How Do You Add It?

There's a different method for different browsers:

Firefox: Right-click on the following link, then select the "Bookmark This Link" option:
Reload with Thompson Library EZProxy
Internet Explorer: Right-click on this link
Reload with Thompson Library EZProxy
Select the "Add to Favorites..." option. You may be warned that you are adding a link which may be unsafe. While some links like this may be unsafe, we believe this one is safe. You can click whichever option is required to continue.
Safari and Google Chrome: Drag this link to your bookmarks toolbar:
Reload with Thompson Library EZProxy

Once you've added this bookmark to your web browser, selecting it will attempt to reload your current page through the Thompson Library's EZProxy. If it's a resource that your UM-Flint affiliation gets you access, you'll pass through a login screen and be granted access to it. Otherwise, you'll get the same page you started with.

Please let us know how well the EZProxy bookmarklet works.

title
Loading...