A-Z Databases

All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
*Excluding FILM PLATFORM and National Theatre titles
[source]

1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
Short video tutorials on using CINAHL

Also available via EBSCOhost and the U.S. Department of Education (open access version). 

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. 1966-present. 

Covers:

• Adult, career and vocational education
   
• Counseling
   
• Elementary & early childhood education
   
• Education management
   
• Higher education, including junior colleges
   
• Second-language learning
   
• Special education
   
• Teacher education
   
• Tests, measurement, & evaluation

Many ERIC Documents are online in ERIC, and older ones are available on microfiche on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library.

See also Child Care & Early Education Research Connections for childhood-related resources.
 

Access extended! Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible. 

Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer

As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.

Kanopy Streaming offers a variety of documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active, California Newsreel, Checkerboard Films, Criterion Collection/Janus films, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber Edu, Media Education Foundation, National Film Board of Canada, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, and the DEFA Film Library's (East) German Film Collection.

All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices. To facilitate teaching, they can be projected in lecture halls, embedded in authenticated web pages, and watched off-campus (with login) with unlimited simultaneous viewers. Users can also create Playlists and make clips.

Covers contemporary social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations, and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search, podcasts (including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs), and a national and state curriculum standards search correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.

Keyword(s): United States

Includes the collections APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles.

PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.

Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at U-M Flint.

CoCites, "a citation-based method for searching scientific literature," is a Chrome- and Firefox-compatible browser plugin you can use with PubMed.

Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.

Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.

Covers 1996-present.