Gateway to databases and text collections focusing on Classical and Medieval European history.
Includes the following databases:
Bibliography of British and Irish History: Bibliographic data on historical writing about the British Isles and the Commonwealth for all periods from 55 B.C. to present. Content is primarily books and articles published since 1900.
International Medieval Bibliography
Bibliographie de Civilisation Medivale
International Directory of Medievalists
Database of Latin Dictionaries
Databases searchable via Cross Database Searchtool:
Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.