Complete suite of clinical and educational content from leading books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17th ED. Updated daily.
Designed for direct access to the information necessary for evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review. To access the mobile version, optimized for viewing on iPhones and other PDAs, register for a My AccessMedicine profile from any on-site computer. Once you have done so, you can log on to the site using your My AccessMedicine username & password. [Mobile-friendly URL: http://go.umflint.edu/am]
Multimedia encyclopedia and dictionary covering all major scientific disciplines.
AccessScience is an online resource that contains reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
AccessScience content includes:
• More than 8,500 articles covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and former McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology
• 115,000-plus definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
• 3,000 biographies of well-known scientific figures
• 18,000-plus downloadable images and animations illustrating key topics
• Videos highlighting the life and work of award-winning scientists
• Suggestions for further study and additional readings guide users to deeper understanding and research
Extensive coverage of environmental science and related disciplines, and including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Coverage: 1960 - current.
Includes content from these databases:
• Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
• Biotechnology Research Abstracts
• Ecology Abstracts
• Environmental Engineering Abstracts
• Environmental Impact Statements
• Health & Safety Science Abstracts
• Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
• Pollution Abstracts
• Risk Abstracts
• Sustainability Science Abstracts
• Toxicology Abstracts
• Water Resources Abstracts
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
Medical, health, and wellness information from authoritative medical sources.
Provides access to medical, health, and wellness information from authoritative medical sources including reference works, full-text magazines, journals and pamphlets, with descriptive links to selected web sites. Covers 1997-present.
Complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
A different interface to Medline, the primary database offered by PubMed. Links to login page for Medline via UM-Medsearch. Use uniqname and UMICH password to login to "Authenticated Sign-on."
1946-present. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Peer-reviewed information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Provides clinically relevant, bottom-line-focused information and ratings on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies in evidence-based monographs. Includes in-depth evidence tables and comprehensive review of evidence sourced from both databases and expert resources.
• Over 90,000+ entries for commercial dietary supplement products, including product data and ratings using the evidence-based NMBER® system.
• Improved interaction checker featuring the ability to check interactions between prescription drugs and commercial dietary supplements and natural ingredients.
• Pregnancy and lactation checker.
• Improved drug-supplement interaction data including evidence-based interaction severity ratings.
• Effectiveness Checker that enables quick comparison of the effectiveness of different natural medicines for specific condition.
• Natural MedWatch that provides adverse event reporting at the point of care and allows you to quickly submit adverse event reports related to dietary supplements, print reports for patient charts, and data share with colleagues.
A mobile app is available for the iPhone/iPad/iTouch and the Android phone.
• Dr. Cheryl Beck - Theory of Postpartum Depression
• Dr. Elizabeth Ann Manhart Barrett - Theory of Power as Knowing Particiation in Change
• Dr. Kathy Kolcaba - Theory of Comfort
• Dr. Marilyn Dee Ray - Theory of Bureaucratic Caring
• Dr. Marilyn McFarland - Theory of Cultural Diversity & Universality
• Dr. Savina Schoenhofer - Theory of Nursing as Caring
Largest biomedical research database worldwide. Always start searches for Nursing literature here or in CINAHL. Not all articles have full text available.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books.
Books, journals and reference books on social science research methods.
Books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, Little Green Books (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (QASS) series), Little Blue Books (Qualitative Research Methods series), and videos on social research. Includes a Methods Map, "a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories and techniques used in social research." [More info]
Full text of more than 2,000 journals, primarily in life sciences, physical sciences and medicine.
Includes over 2,000 journals published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.
Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
Covers journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, and other literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Covers 1999-present.
Point-of-care database to support clinical decision making in patient care with emphasis on internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, and family practice.
Covers 9,100+ topics in 20 specialties; graded treatment recommendations; links to referenced articles (when available); drug database & drug interactions program, including adult, pediatric, international, & natural drugs with drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions; medical calculators.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Permits searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 12,000+ journals. • Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder. • Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping. • Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report. • Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns.
Includes: • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) • Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present) • Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present) • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present) • Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present) • Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)