- Chronicle of Higher Education
1989-present. Online edition of the weekly newspaper, plus data from the Almanac of Higher Education, blogs, job postings, etc.
- CollegeSource Online: The World's College Catalog Resource
Thousands of college catalogs; millions of course descriptions.
- Dissertations & Theses
Indexing & authors' abstracts for 90% of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in North America, plus thousands more from around the world. Includes free full-text (in PDF) to all U-M and CIC/Big Ten Universities' dissertations (the 11 members of the Big Ten athletic conference, plus the University of Chicago & the University of Illinois at Chicago) filed since 1997, and abstracts written by the authors for all dissertations from 1980 to present. Also includes an index of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.
- Encyclopedia of Careers & Vocational Guidance, 5th ed.
Detailed facts and current statistics for over 750 occupations in more than 90 key career fields.
- Going Global
Provides world-wide job openings, internship listings, industry profiles and country-specific career information designed to help citizens of one country find employment in another country (including the U.S.). Constantly-updated content, including topics such as: work permit/visa regulations, resume writing guidelines and examples, employment trends, salary ranges, networking groups, cultural/interviewing advice, corporate profiles and worldwide job listings. Includes a directory of U.S. employers who hire holders of H-1B Visas, the most common non-immigrant category for university graduates who wish to work in the U.S. in their field.
- Google Scholar
Scholarly articles and other resources.
3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
- LearningExpress Library 3.0
Practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help with academic or licensing tests. Includes scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results. Set up free individual account to use this resource.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
The profiles featured cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade. Provided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- ProQuest Research
1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. Most subjects covered.
- USA City Career Guides
Contains career and employment resources for job-seekers covering the 40 largest metropolitan areas in the USA. Includes: job search resources, employment outlook, professional networking groups, cost of living, major employer listings by industry sector, non-profits and volunteer opportunities. Also includes a directory of U.S. employers in all 50 states who hire holders of H-1B Visas, the most common non-immigrant category for university graduates who wish to work in the U.S. in their field.
- Vocations & Careers Collection
Content from nearly 400 journals; this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. Short link: http://go.umflint.edu/vcc