- Brill Online: Books & Journals: Language & Linguistics
Search books and journals from Brill relating to languages & linguistics. Browse titles
- Dissertations & Theses
Indexing & authors' abstracts for 90% of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in North America, plus thousands more from around the world. Includes free full-text (in PDF) to all U-M and CIC/Big Ten Universities' dissertations (the 11 members of the Big Ten athletic conference, plus the University of Chicago & the University of Illinois at Chicago) filed since 1997, and abstracts written by the authors for all dissertations from 1980 to present. Also includes an index of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.
- Essay and General Literature Index
1985-present. Archaeology, architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, drama, economics, fiction, film , folklore, history, linguistics, music, poetry, political science, religion, women's studies.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
1907-present (indexing); 1984-present (abstracts); 1994-present (selected full text). Combines Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Social Science Abstracts into a single file with Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, covering all humanities and social sciences fields, including: Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Community Health, Criminology, Dance, Economics, Environmental studies, Ethics, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
- Humanities Full Text
1984-present. Covers archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, food, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, space, world history, world literature.
- Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
Searchable dictionaries of Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Germanic, Proto-Celtic, Old-Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, Persian (forthcoming), Iranian verbs, and Proto-Nostratic.
3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
- MIT CogNet
E-books, e-journals on cognitive sciences.
- Motif-Index of Folk Literature
A "classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. Revised and enlarged edition."
- ProQuest Research
1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. Most subjects covered.
- Rosetta Stone [TRIAL ACCESS]
Interactive language-learning program for 30 languages. Note that you will need to register a username and password, and select a voice gender (for voice recognition purposes), before accessing the product. Only Level I is available for the trial access.
Available until Sunday, June 22, 2014. Send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Very Short Introductions: Linguistics
Concise introductions to various topics in linguistics.