Credo Reference is an online collection of reference books and other materials in numerous subjects.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided to faculty, staff and students to supplement the Library's collection. You can request materials (books, articles, etc.) from other libraries around the world with this service. Simply fill out the form after logging into the ILLIAD system to request an item.
This is a different service from Get This, which will request materials available on the Ann Arbor campus.
- Philosopher's Index
1940-present. Journals & books in philosophy, religion, education, language, political science, anthropology, sociology.
- Philosophy Documentation Center Collection
Full text searching of journals, book series, conference proceedings, & other publications in applied ethics, philosophy, religious studies, & related disciplines.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (InfoTrac)
250+ full text journals. coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
Index and bibliography of works in philosophy.
- Brill Online: Books and Journals: Philosophy
- International Directory of Philosophy
Contact information for philosophers, philosophy departments, philosophical societies, publishers, etc.
- MIT CogNet
E-books, e-journals on cognitive sciences.
- MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS)
Computational intelligence, linguistics & language, philosophy, culture, cognition, evolution, neuroscience, psychology.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the Renaissance in 14th -17th century Europe, and the influence it has on modern thought & society.
- Past Masters
Full-text editions primarily in the field of philosophy. Original language texts available in Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, and Latin, and English translation.
Citations to literature on bioethics and professional ethics. Use Journal Finder
or Article Linker
to see if full text is available to UM-Flint users.
1972-present. Covers archaeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion, sociology.
Citations to literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications.
- Google Scholar
Scholarly articles and other resources.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Covers 1,500+ periodicals across all humanities and social sciences fields. 1907-present (indexing); 1984-present (abstracts); 1994-present (selected full text).
- Humanities Full Text
1984-present. Covers archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, food, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, space, world history, world literature.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Includes full-text dissertations from all UM and CIC/Big Ten Universities. THIS DATABASE IS BEING SUPERSEDED BY PROQUEST DISSERTATIONS & THESES GLOBAL (SEE BELOW). PLEASE UPDATE ANY BOOKMARKS.
- ProQuest Research
1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. Most subjects covered.
Peer review is the process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals). Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication.