Skip to Main Content

UM-Flint Home University of Michigan-Flint

TODAY'S HOURS:

Research Topic Ideas

Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Computer Science; Engineering; Geography, Planning, & Environment; Mathematics; Physics

History Topics

Related subject guide and suggested database

History: A Guide to Library Research
by Reference Librarians Last Updated Oct 18, 2024 593 views this year

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer.

Law Topics

Assisted suicide
Birthright citizenship
Civil forfeiture
Conscience rights in the workplace
Data encryption and surveillance
Discipline of employees for conduct outside work
Due process on campus
Fourth Amendment and privacy
Indigent criminal defendants
International Criminal Court
Maritime piracy in the 21st century
Mass incarceration
Non-governmental organizations (NGO) in international law
Regulatory process and public input
Religious Freedom Restoration Act
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations (RICO) Act
Roberts Court
Sales tax on internet purchases
Second Amendment
Social media and freedom of speech
Sovereign citizen movement
Supreme Court, power of
Tort reform
Union organizing

Related subject guide and suggested database

Law & Legal Resources: A Guide to Library Research
by Paul Streby Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 266 views this year

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals & international legal journals. Contains law-related articles from 1,000+ additional business & general interest titles.

Literature Topics

Afrofuturism
Arthurian legend
Beat poets
Broadside Press
Concrete poetry
Economic context of a novel
Ecocriticism
Ecopoetry
Elegies
Fairy tales
Folklore
Freudian interpretation
Gothic
Graphic novels
Harlem Renaissance
Hero archetype
Neo-romanticism
Nocturnes
Postcolonial literature
Raku poetry
Science fiction
Symbolism
Theater of the absurd
Transcendentalism
World building

Related subject guide and suggested database

English: A Guide to Library Research
by Reference Librarians Last Updated Sep 17, 2024 27 views this year

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews.
Combines Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable research and study environment. Covers authors and their works, literary movements and genres, book reviews, and more from these Gale reference series:
- Gale Literature Criticism
- Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Literature: LitFinder
- Literature Criticism Online
- Literature Resource Center

Philosophy Topics

Anarchism
Animal rights
Assisted suicide
Blank slate
Cartesian dualism
Emergent property and consciousness
Environmental ethics
Free will
Human cloning
Just war theory
Moral psychology
Panpsychism
Philosophical anarchism
Political obligation
Possible worlds
Qualia
Theories of punishment
Third wave feminism
Time travel
Turing Test

Related subject guide and suggested database

Philosophy: A Guide to Library Research
by Paul Streby Last Updated May 28, 2024 81 views this year

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of journals, book series, conference proceedings, & other publications in applied ethics, philosophy, religious studies, & related disciplines.
Covers 1927-present (varies by title). Provides full text searching across current, recent, and back issues of over 139 journals, book series, conference proceedings, and other publications in applied ethics, philosophy, religious studies, and related disciplines. Complete full text of articles is viewable online for the 46 of them subscribed to by UM; citations and abstracts only are available for articles from the remaining 93 titles. For non-subscribed content, check Search All to see if access is available.

Religion Topics

American civil religion
Buddhism in contemporary India
Christians in contemporary Middle East
Conscientious objection in wartime
Evangelicals and Catholics Together project
Fundamentalism
Great Awakenings in American history
Hasidic movements
Hinduism in the West
House churches in China
John Frum movement
Nation of Islam
New Atheism
New religious movements
Orthodox church history
Pentecostalism in Latin America
Peyote in religious ceremonies
Santa Muerte
Santeria
Shia minorities in the Middle East
Shinto before and after World War II
Sufism today
Toronto Blessing
Waldenses
Zoroastrianism

Related subject guide and suggested database

Religion: A Guide to Library Research
by Paul Streby Last Updated May 28, 2024 51 views this year

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer.