This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Physical Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Therapy   Tags: health care  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umflint.edu/physicaltherapy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Finding Articles

To find articles published about physical therapy, you will search in CINAHL, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature, and Medline, which indexes medical articles.  Both indexes are conveniently linked in the box to the right.

Both CINAHL and Medline are primarily indexes, which means they allow you to search for and find out about articles published on a health care topic, but they don't necessarily contain the full text of any particular article that you find (both of these indexes, however, contain the full text of some of the articles that they index).  

You will see "Find Full Text" links in CINAHL and in some of the interfaces to Medline, that allow you to link to an article if we have it in a full-text database.  

If we don't have the article you need, and you are a student, staff or faculty at UM-Flint, we will get it for you from a library that does have it.  This is a free service called Interlibrary Loan.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided to faculty, staff and students to supplement the Library's collection.  You can request materials (books, articles, etc.) from other libraries around the world with this service.  Simply fill out the form after logging into the ILLiad system to request an item.

This is a different service from Get This, which allows you to request books and other materials from the Ann Arbor campus libraries.

 

What is Peer Review?

Peer review is the process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals).  Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication. 

Databases to Start With for Physical Therapy Research

This search box allows you to search Summon for items in the field of physical therapy:

 

The article databases below are the most useful for physical therapy research:

CINAHL
This index (the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is one of the primary indexes for physical therapy.  It indexes most journals published in the field of physical therapy, and contains full text for about 13% of the articles it indexes.  The full text of other articles may be found by clicking the "Find Full Text" link included in the record for each article.  Instructions for using CINAHL are available here.

PubMed
This index is the publicly available version of the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic databasej, containing over 19 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.

Rehabilitation Reference Center
Evidence-based clinical reference tool for therapists and students at the point-of-care. Information in Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that provide high-quality, independent evidence to inform health care decision making. 

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Indexes more than 100 journals covering physical therapy & sports medicine, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and more.  Includes thousands of full-text articles.

 

Other useful databases may be found in the Other Related Databases box below, or in the A to Z list of Databases for Physical Therapy tab above.

      

    Other Related Databases

    These databases will also be helpful for finding information in the field of Physical Therapy:

    Your librarian:

    Profile Image
    Laura Friesen
     

    Chat with a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip