Search Credo Reference for Religion
Credo Reference is an online collection of reference books and other materials in numerous subjects.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided to faculty, staff and students to supplement the Library's collection. You can request materials (books, articles, etc.) from other libraries around the world with this service. Simply fill out the form after logging into the ILLIAD system to request an item.
This is a different service from Get This, which will request materials available on the Ann Arbor campus.
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is the process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals). Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication.
Google Scholar
Summon Search
Religion Databases to Start With
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: ReligionReference books on religion. Searching can be done within an individual title, within the subject, or across the entire collection.
- JewishEncyclopedia.comContains the complete contents of the 12-volumeJewish Encyclopedia,which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia,which recently became part of the public domain,contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.Covers Catholicism and the humanities. In addition to the hundreds of new, signed articles on a wide variety of topics, this edition also features biographies of contemporary religious figures, thousands of photos, maps, and illustrations, and completely updated bibliographical citations.
- Oxford Handbooks Online Religion
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- Oxford Reference Online: Religion & PhilosophyFully indexed, cross-searchable reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- ProQuest ReligionComprehensive collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies. [More info]
- Religion Past and PresentEncyclopedia of religious subjects worldwide. Interdisciplinary articles cover a wide range of topics from history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, visual arts, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy.
Other Related Databases
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought Volume 1: Christianity [TRIAL RESOURCE]Text collection of published work and archival material related to religion and religious thinkers of the 20th Century. Available until Saturday, April 13, 2013. Send feedback to pgstreby@umflint.edu.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
