LibGuides: ENG 100: College Reading and Learning Strategies: MLA Resources

Help with MLA

The MLA Style Center
A companion to the MLA Handbook, the site provides students and educators with a host of free resources for teaching and learning the MLA’s approach to research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA template of core elements, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Reserves | LB 2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.

MLA Style | Purdue OWL
Help with MLA from Purdue's Online Writing Lab. Look under the "Formatting and Style Guide" for help with your works cited page.

Citation Maker

Most of the library databases and the IUCN Red List will have suggested citations or will generate citations for sources, but many websites will not. Referring to the MLA Handbook is always to best bet, but ZoteroBib does a pretty decent job in getting you started.

ZoteroBib This link opens in a new window
Tool for creating citations and bibliographies, manually or by entering the URL, ISBN, DOI, PMID, arXiv ID, or title. Supports APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and thousand of other citation styles.

Citing Images with MLA

The 9th edition of the MLA Handbook Appendix 2 has several examples of works-cited-list entries and the examples of citing fine art and still images can be found on pages 331 - 333. The online MLA Style Center also has examples of image citations.

Citations by Format | MLA Style Center
Are you using any other types of information sources in your project? Find more examples of MLA citation styles here.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Reserves | LB 2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.

Here is an example of how the following photograph (found through Pixabay) should be cited using the MLA style.

stokpic. Blonde Girl Taking Photo. 10 February 2015. Pixabay. pixabay.com/photos/blonde-girl-taking-photo-629726/

This work (Blonde Girl Taking, by stokpic), identified by Pixabay, is free of known copyright restrictions.

Remember, the library has a copy of the Handbook at the Reference Desk if you need to use it.