LibGuides: Finance: A Guide to Library Research: Mergers & Acquisitions

Databases

Orbis M&A This link opens in a new window
Global information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offerings (IPO), Private Equity (PE), and Venture Capital (VC) deals.
Enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database. No guest access.
Information about Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offering (IPO), Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) deals, going back five years for international deals and back to 1997 for deals involving European and American companies.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database.Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Zephyr is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact kresge_library@umich.edu.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements require that you include the phrase, "Used with permission of Orbis." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
EMIS Emerging Markets This link opens in a new window
Provides full text news, reports, and financial information for emerging markets in Asia, Europe, and Latin America. Includes merger and acquisitions deals, data, and analytic tools for company and industry comparisons. Users can create a login to save personal settings.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, and insider trading for US and foreign companies. YouTube tutorial available
Provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, including firm description, statistics, and financial information, as well as annual reports. Mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock and insider trading are also provided in the company records. Historical data is available for the past 15 years. Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.

Includes Mergent Horizon data about a firm's products; its relationships with its major customers, suppliers, and partners; its competitors; its financials; and the industry space in which it operates.