LibGuides: International Business: A Guide to Library Research: Country Information

Country Reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use Basic Search to search by country name. From search results, click on "Country Reports" or "Industry Profiles."
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Background historical, demographic, and other information on every country in the world as well as most territories.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
"Country Culture" database containing 126 information modules of structured content for 175 countries.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for numerous countries worldwide.
Includes forecast data, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, data on 100,000 brands, and full text market analysis reports.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Provides economic, social, and environmental indicators for 210 economies. From the World Bank.
The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges, and data can be exported.

SBA Export Assistance Centers
If you're ready to explore the possibilities and challenges of exporting, U.S. Export Assistance Centers provide the help you need. These centers are located in major metropolitan areas throughout the United States.
more info...less info...
Each U.S. Export Assistance Center is staffed by professionals from the SBA, the U.S. Department of Commerce, the U.S. Export-Import Bank, and other public and private organizations. Together, their mission is to provide the help you need to compete in today's global marketplace. Your local U.S. Export Assistance Center is your one-stop shop, designed to provide export assistance for your small- or medium-sized business
International Trade Administration - US Dept of Commerce
The International Trade Administration assists in the development of U.S. trade policy in the global economy.
more info...less info...
Its purpose is to create jobs and economic growth by promoting U.S. companies; strengthening American competitiveness across all industries; addressing market access and compliance issues; administering U.S. trade laws; and undertaking a range of trade promotion and trade advocacy efforts.
Industry & Analysis (U.S. International Trade Administration)
Trade analysis to create and implement innovative trade and investment strategies for U.S. businesses.
more info...less info...
-Evaluates the potential effects of U.S government regulations and domestic policies on industries.

-Maximizes U.S. gains in trade negotiations and support the enforcement of U.S. trade laws.

-Provides trade and industry data to underpin the development of national economic policies