Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Full Text

How to get to full text from a database

If you've found an article you want in a database, look for PDF, HTML, 'Linked Full Text' and 'Find Full-Text' links. The first three mean Thompson Library has the article online, and clicking the link should take you to the article.  'Find Full-text' will check to see if Thompson Library has the article and, if so, if we have it online or in print. 

Find Full Text Link

If we have the article online, you will be taken to one of the following:

  • to a page with several options for databases, click one and you should be taken to the full text
    • There is a possibility you will be taken to a list of journal issues or a table of contents for a particular issue. You will have to navigate to the correct issue and find the individual article in the list.
  • directly to the article 
  • to a page with a PDF or HTML link to the article

If we have it in print only, you will be taken to a page, where you will see a "Get This" section with a list of physical library locations and call numbers.

To get a print article, you will need to go to the Periodicals shelves on the third floor of the Thompson library, where journals are shelved alphabetically by title.  Find the volume of the journal in which your article was published, and then locate the issue and page number for your article insides.